We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best farmhouse breakfast I have ever had.”
Review of L'Arte Cafe

L'Arte Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted Lonely Planet's No 1 cafe pick for the Central North Island and one of the top 10 places to visit in New Zealand. L'Arte Cafe and Gallery is not to be missed when visiting Taupo. Allow yourself time to experience something very unique and special! A trip to L'Arte is a visual and edible feast and unlike anything you have experienced before. The cafe and gallery are both set in a magical garden, complete with an outside mosaic living room. The food and art at L'Arte's unique destination are both exquisite. Resident ceramic artist Judi Brennan's work is evident everywhere and is sold exclusively from the gallery at L'Arte. L'Arte Cafe serves Allpress coffee, has a wonderful selection of New Zealand wines and beers and the excellent service exceeds all expectations. With New Zealand's finest produce, L'Arte's kitchen team produce everything fresh on-site, from homemade bread to homemade pesto and onion jam. We have also created a small deli so you can take some of L'Arte home with you. L'Arte Cafe, Gallery and Garden is a special holiday experience that will stay with you .........
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Best full farmhouse breakfast I’ve had and I’ve had a few I can tell you. Brilliant. Atmosphere and service just great. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Relax31406367610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

We are on holiday and a friend recommended this place. I’m glad we went. Lunch was very good. My lamb dish was very tasty. The Mexican bowl was big and presented well. We’ll be back next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Davieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

We came here for a walk around the garden with our elderly mother. It is a short and interesting walk. Lots to see with a well priced shop. Great for gift buying. Finish with a snack and tea or lunch at the cafe.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank Weetbix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

A bit of a destination location given that it's a little off the beaten track but well worth finding. The ceramic pieces around the garden and in the shop (even in the cafe) are not high art - and probably better for that. Great place to buy gifts.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Food is a little pricey but the place is gorgeous. The mosaics are terrific worth popping in just to walk the garden and see the store.
Definitely something different

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank chrystal000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed L'Arte Cafe also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to L'Arte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.