We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute!”
Review of L'Arte Cafe

L'Arte Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted Lonely Planet's No 1 cafe pick for the Central North Island and one of the top 10 places to visit in New Zealand. L'Arte Cafe and Gallery is not to be missed when visiting Taupo. Allow yourself time to experience something very unique and special! A trip to L'Arte is a visual and edible feast and unlike anything you have experienced before. The cafe and gallery are both set in a magical garden, complete with an outside mosaic living room. The food and art at L'Arte's unique destination are both exquisite. Resident ceramic artist Judi Brennan's work is evident everywhere and is sold exclusively from the gallery at L'Arte. L'Arte Cafe serves Allpress coffee, has a wonderful selection of New Zealand wines and beers and the excellent service exceeds all expectations. With New Zealand's finest produce, L'Arte's kitchen team produce everything fresh on-site, from homemade bread to homemade pesto and onion jam. We have also created a small deli so you can take some of L'Arte home with you. L'Arte Cafe, Gallery and Garden is a special holiday experience that will stay with you .........
Reviewed 17 March 2021

A bit of a destination location given that it's a little off the beaten track but well worth finding. The ceramic pieces around the garden and in the shop (even in the cafe) are not high art - and probably better for that. Great place to buy gifts.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Food is a little pricey but the place is gorgeous. The mosaics are terrific worth popping in just to walk the garden and see the store.
Definitely something different

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank chrystal000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2021

Almost everyone in our group had eggs benedict which I usually prefer on toasted muffins but the mash they served instead was very tasty. For a busy cafe they were very on the ball with timing. Nice to know they are licenced if you want a bubbly with your brunch.

The garden art is so colourful and cleverly executed. Mosaic art was the highlight for me. It's out in the country and the car park gets full but there's plenty of road-side parking and places to lounge on the grass while waiting for a table to come free.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bevan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Now this is how a cafe should be run. After a shocking cafe in raglan this gets it all right. Ten minutes after we order our drinks turn up, three minutes later our meals. We had tea for two and it was a good sized pot of tea. Meals superb and as described. Lovely situation and staff. Would go out of my way to have meal there.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank garypF6927CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Great food, great service, & delivered quickly. Beautiful presentation & generous servings. We will be back.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank ROBYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed L'Arte Cafe also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to L'Arte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.