We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative in every sense”
Review of L'Arte Cafe

L'Arte Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted Lonely Planet's No 1 cafe pick for the Central North Island and one of the top 10 places to visit in New Zealand. L'Arte Cafe and Gallery is not to be missed when visiting Taupo. Allow yourself time to experience something very unique and special! A trip to L'Arte is a visual and edible feast and unlike anything you have experienced before. The cafe and gallery are both set in a magical garden, complete with an outside mosaic living room. The food and art at L'Arte's unique destination are both exquisite. Resident ceramic artist Judi Brennan's work is evident everywhere and is sold exclusively from the gallery at L'Arte. L'Arte Cafe serves Allpress coffee, has a wonderful selection of New Zealand wines and beers and the excellent service exceeds all expectations. With New Zealand's finest produce, L'Arte's kitchen team produce everything fresh on-site, from homemade bread to homemade pesto and onion jam. We have also created a small deli so you can take some of L'Arte home with you. L'Arte Cafe, Gallery and Garden is a special holiday experience that will stay with you .........
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Yesterday I had the opportunity to have lunch at L'arte in Taupo. I have to say, the food was fantastic with very creative combinations. Probably the best part was the garden which was a gallery of fabulous huge mosaics and other art. I've been to the Giant's House in Akaroa which was terrific too but you had to pay $20 NZ to go in. L'arte is a restaurant/ coffee shop that has the added bonus of the mosaics and other works of art many of which are available for purchase. One could go in and enjoy the art without spending a penny.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Loren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stopped here for coffee but only really came to see the art. I think were were spoilt by the Giants House in Akoroa as this is a whole garden filled with art and statues and puts this one to shame, although here you are allowed to buy it.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Service
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The art in this place is fantastic! It is worth the drive to see it. most art is for sale, and there is a small shop there also with a variety of art, jewellery etc. The food is very good too.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Awesome "cutlery kiwis". Kids bacon and eggs on toast a smash hit. The garden sculptures are worth a saunter around. heck, you might even buy one.

Date of visit: February 2014
Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

It's always a treat visiting this cafe. The mosaic garden is fun for young and old to explore. It's not the cheapest cafe in the world but the food and coffee is great.

Thank lisaspriggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed L'Arte Cafe also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to L'Arte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.