We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of L'Arte Cafe

L'Arte Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Quick Bites in Taupo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted Lonely Planet's No 1 cafe pick for the Central North Island and one of the top 10 places to visit in New Zealand. L'Arte Cafe and Gallery is not to be missed when visiting Taupo. Allow yourself time to experience something very unique and special! A trip to L'Arte is a visual and edible feast and unlike anything you have experienced before. The cafe and gallery are both set in a magical garden, complete with an outside mosaic living room. The food and art at L'Arte's unique destination are both exquisite. Resident ceramic artist Judi Brennan's work is evident everywhere and is sold exclusively from the gallery at L'Arte. L'Arte Cafe serves Allpress coffee, has a wonderful selection of New Zealand wines and beers and the excellent service exceeds all expectations. With New Zealand's finest produce, L'Arte's kitchen team produce everything fresh on-site, from homemade bread to homemade pesto and onion jam. We have also created a small deli so you can take some of L'Arte home with you. L'Arte Cafe, Gallery and Garden is a special holiday experience that will stay with you .........
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a lovely small cafe settled in amongst mozaic sculptures away from the town. The staff are very friendly and the coffee is great. A good selection of "cabinet" food as well as a menu. Out in the country it is a lovely peaceful environment

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chandabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 281 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

My mum took me here as she had been before and loved it. Icertainly thought it was worth a look and it was a very relaxing environment in which to enjoy a coffee and some morning tea. The girls at the cafe were very friendly and the food good. They had a large menu on the blackboard but we just had cabinet food which was priced as per most cafes ~$4-$9 (with the option of a side salad for a few dollars more). They have a large bowl option for coffee too. The mosaics were really neat and I enjoyed looking at the various garden art works. Its a great little trip to L'arte if you have an hour or two to fill and feel like enjoying a cafe in a unique,relaxing semi-rural location.

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xasae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Excellent food, service and very special mosaic gardens and art work.

Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We did breakfast here whilst on holiday at Taupo with out 3.5 year old. This place is a hidden gem. The coffees were very good. The breakfasts excellent. The service very good too. We will definately go back again when in Taupo.

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2012

L'Arte was recommended to us by Phoebe at Chris Jolly Cruising. It's set out in the country with no lake view at all but it is a lovely tree-lined setting and after a delicious lunch we shopped in the art studio attached. Then we visited the mosaic "lounge" close to the studio and had another diner take our photo sitting on the big mosaic sofa. A delightful and quirky cafe/food/shop and we will visit it again.

Date of visit: December 2011
Thank B0nniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed L'Arte Cafe also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to L'Arte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.