We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“READ THIS COMMENT FOR MOAT RECENT VISIT REVIEW”
Review of Master of India

Master of India
Get food delivered
Ranked #2 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 April 2024

The food is spot on, perfect amount of spice(not too spiced and not too little). The meat are tender and juicy, perfectly enveloped in the curry sauce. I definitely recommend trying the curry by itself first before you eat everything together, you will taste the difference, the delicate aroma and taste. People who love food will appreciate this. The naan was delicious too, soft but a little crisp and oh wow the garlic naan was amazing. I could eat it all the time!

This spot is perfect for families with large number or even couples. Many tables with spacious seatings, clean table and utensils. The waiters are well dressed and very polite, their English is excellent and was able to explain which ones are recommended for certain taste and likings. Excellent service and lovely chill atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Mobile25886951605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2024

We are holidaying in Taupo for 3 days. Found Master of India last night. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Best Indian we have had. The food was so delicious and good portion and the service is top quality. The staff is very attentative with nice smiles.

We were so impressed with them and we went back again tonight. We are thinking we may go back tomorrow, our last night in Taupo!

Thank you very much for the deliciousness!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sallypixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Wow - this is one of the best Indian meals I have had! The food and the service were second to none. The garlic naan actually had the flavour of garlic, so often lacking. The butter chicken and lamb masala were both extremely moist and full of flavour. Even the onion bhaji and poppadom were delicious and full of flavour! We will definitely be returning here. Thank you to the staff for being genuinely kind and attentive, without being too much or putting any pressure on to leave when finished. Couldn't have been a better experience! Oh also, really lovely decor. 5 stars! And a first table to boot, so our bill was so very reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank briaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for an evening meal. The food was absolutely amazing and all the Excellent reviews were accurate. The decor is really nice, the staff were really friendly and professional and the place was spotless. Without doubt the best curry I have had in New Zealand in 20 years. Highly recommend with 5 stars.

Our meal was a chicken garlic Balti and a Kerman Nan and chicken tikka masala.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank neilf956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

I had a great dinner here - food is authentic Indian and the staff are friendly and attentive. We especially appreciated Prashik's service. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magnum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Master of India also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Master of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.