We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully cooked Indian food”
Review of Master of India

Master of India
Get food delivered
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We feel compelled to write a review because they serve seriously good food with friendly service - totally unxpected from a small little place like Taupo.

Me and my partner are from Singapore and Malaysia respectively - where Indian food is in abundance. We went with little expectations and ordered the Chicken Baltic with Okra, a fish Tikka and an aloo ghoobi. What arrived was delicious food filled with all the lovely scent of authentic spices, accompanied by perfectly cooked basmasti white rice. Portions were huge and we absolutely fell in love with the Chicken Baltic Okra.

Lastly, service was warm and friendly as the owner and his wife made small talk with us, even helped us take a picture. In fact, we were so buoyed by our experience with indian food at Master of India that we went on to try indian food in other parts of NZ!

Try it, it's worth it!

Date of visit: April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank piggieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,227 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2010

Great food, friendly family owned restaurant - traditional decor . The best Aloo Gobi around - Chicken chilli - superb!! Best Samosas in town !!! And Never Ever leave without having the Mango Kolfi - Should be illegal its so addictive !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LPilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2024 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
678omp, Owner at Master of India, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
678omp, Owner at Master of India, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Master of India also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Master of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.