We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Service!”
Review of Indian Affair

Indian Affair
Reserve a table
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #9 of 138 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Indian Affair is Taupo’s finest Indian dining experience. They’re easily located on the corner of Ruapehu and Tuwharetoa Street’s right in the heart of Taupo’s bar and restaurant scene. Indian Affair’s menu combines a diverse mix of traditional and modern Indian cuisine combined with personable and efficient service. Indian Affair is not just any restaurant, their minimalist environment coupled with the vibrancy generated from our busy nature makes Indian Affair a great place to visit with friends and enjoy a wine or traditional Indian beer. Indian Affair’s modern, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere will suit anyone's needs.
Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

Great service and food! Prices are super fair. We paid for 2 vegetarian main courses plus rice and naan bread 42$.
Very friendly manager!

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Indian affair, Owner at Indian Affair, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we highly appreciate it, hope to see you soon.
Regards
Indian Affair Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

We had an awesome meal at Indian Affair
The service was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful with my partners eating requirements and even designed a dish to suit her.
I would highly recommend this restaurant
It was very inviting in the restaurant and we felt very welcome.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Indian affair, Owner at Indian Affair, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Mike, thank you for the review on Indian Affait Taupo. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time at our establishment! Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Indian Affaor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

We both had great meals at this wonderful restaurant.
I have intolerance to both dairy and gluten and found a surprisingly wide variety to choose from the menu. Including gluten free naan bread. Yum!
While busy, the staff still provided very good service.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank TracyG2194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Indian affair, Owner at Indian Affair, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Tracy,
Thank you for the review on Indian Affait Taupo. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time at our establishment! Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Indian Affaor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

I visited this restaurant about 6months ago with my sister. We went for Tongariro Crossing hike and drove to Taupo looking for Indian food. This is the first restaurant we saw and we are so glad we found such a gem. We had chole bhature and alu paratha. It was the best chhole bhature I ever had in NZ. We were so impressed with food, the warm welcome and attention by the owner himself, we decided to order rice, naan, daal tadka and malai kofta takeaway for our dinner. Again, we were so impressed with the deliciousness of the food. We infact took the left over with us to eat it on the way to Auckland.
Last friday, us sisters went to Taupo for the half marathon. We decided to try Indian Affair again to have our dinner. The food was amazing again. We had tadka daal, palak paneer, naan and rice. First time was not just a fluke and showed the consistency of the quality of food.
We had the race next day and we went back again for dinner. We were greeted very warmly with a wave as the owner saw us outside through the glass door.
This time we ordered entrees-veg manchurian and chips chilly, along with some wine for my sister and mocktail for me. The drinks were average but the entrees were lipsmacking good. For mains we ordered a garlic naan, a butter naan, jeera rice, eggplant-mushroom and methi malai paneer and ordered some more drinks.
In the end we could not finish it and packed the left overs to eat on our drive back to Auckland the next day.
I have recommended everyone I know to go to this restaurant if they are in Taupo.
I will definitely be going there again when next in Taupo.
I do not normally write reviews but a staff member very politely asked us if we would mind writing a review after we went on and on telling them how much we enjoyed the food and told them we will be back again :)

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Amishra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Indian affair, Owner at Indian Affair, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiance, we highly appreciate it. hope to see you soon.
Regards
Indian Affair Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2022

Family of 4, we arrived at 6:30pm on Saturday night. The place was already busy, but the staff put together a couple of smaller tables to accommodate us, which was great.
Service was a bit slow, but to be fair the restaurant was full to capacity and they were doing a great trade in takeaways too..!
We ordered, and again, the food was very slow getting to us, but when it did arrive everything was delicious.

We had onion bhaji and vegetable manchurian for starter. Then we all shared mutter paneer, beef korma, butter chicken and mango chicken for mains, with rice and garlic naans.
We had kids (8 and 10) so ordered everything mild, and the kids ate everything.

Being picky, there could have been more meat in the beef and chicken dishes.

We visit Taupo quite a bit, and this is somewhere we will definitely be back again to eat at. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjbush007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Indian affair, Owner at Indian Affair, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear Guest, thank you for the review on Indian Affair Taupo. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time at our establishment! Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Indian Affair Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Affair also viewed

 

Been to Indian Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.