We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building works dampen High Tea experience”
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
Ranked #30 of 140 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From lake, land and ocean, our seasonal New Zealand a la carte lunch and dinner brings the region's best offerings to your plate. Located at the elegant Hilton Lake Taupo, boasting stunning lake views and guided by the expertise of celebrity Chef Gareth Stewart, Bistro Lago is a culinary experience not to be missed.
Reviewed 14 March 2024

We booked High Tea for 4 on Sunday 3 March, rang two days out to confirm booking, also received a telephone call whilst we were traveling from Tauranga to confirm our attendance.
When we arrived we were greeted by the external windows covered in painters masking film, one of the reasons for booking was to enjoy the view of the lake.
Food was Ok, when asked if there was a discount for the lack of view, the response was a laugh, upon checking the bill we were over charged for the additional drinks.
Emailed them later that night following our return to Tauranga, still waiting on a response.
At no time prior to our visit were we advised your experience with be hampered due to building works.
Extremely poor customer service, will not recommend this location.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

Great food and view and service except salmon not cooked well enough. Returned but when served later forgot to include the veg

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Y4290YIrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Outstanding food, beautiful setting overlooking the lakeside town of Taupo service was slow but worth the wait, reservation priority for guests in the hotel

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank R1649LOelizabeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2024

The hapuka was outstanding, exactly as described, beautifully fresh and cooked perfectly with a beautiful, well balanced sauce. However, the shoestring fries were average to poor..why go to the trouble of preparing them with truffle oil and parmesan, then serve them with tomato sauce!! Service was average our meals arrived before we had finished our cocktail..too quick. Dessert was also fairly average a tart tartin with a nice peach filling, spoiled by a soggy, uncooked pastry. Coffee was average, though espresso martini great. Menu was a bit boring. Music, a couple on acoustic guitar and singing was lovely.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 13dj1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024

The steak platter at $189.00 for four people was an extreme disappointment. The steak was nothing like in the menu. Shoestring fries were better at burger King and should not be in a restraunt of this quality. The staff were excellent and are to be congratulated.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Voyager61260328984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.