We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overly salty food”
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
Ranked #30 of 138 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From lake, land and ocean, our seasonal New Zealand a la carte lunch and dinner brings the region's best offerings to your plate. Located at the elegant Hilton Lake Taupo, boasting stunning lake views and guided by the expertise of celebrity Chef Gareth Stewart, Bistro Lago is a culinary experience not to be missed.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Bread before dinner was not available as we were told that there was a party at the function room next to the restaurant which took all the bread.

Entrees and main courses were extremely salty. The farmers soup - seafood laksa soup - was way too salty as if each bowl of soup contained heaps of salt. The main courses - beef scotch, fish of the day, confit duck leg and chicken saltimbocca - were overly seasoned and salty and the gravy were thick and salty. Many of us only ate half of the main course as they were just inedible.

Due to the saltiness of the dishes, we had to drink a lot of water to feel better. However, the restaurant was short of staff, our requests couldn’t be satisfied within reasonable time frame and we needed to make a few requests before the water bottles were refilled.

That said, the mille feuille was nicely done. The flaky pastry was crispy and the custard had a good balance of sweetness. Breakfast served the next morning also met our expectation.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2023

We were a table of four. There was only one other table that had already had their meals. The service was terrible. The food was mostly inedible. The sides came when we had nearly finished our meals. The Brussels sprouts were slimy and virtually raw. None of us could eat this dish. The beetroot side was out of a can with some bitter old lettuce. Inedible. The cauliflower main for $40 was boiled with some grated cheese thrown on the top. Fish was ok. The hash brown was pure grease and overcooked The chicken was greasy and premade. Awful experience. They must have been very short staffed and I would question whether the regular chef was there as the meals were dreadful. Won’t be going back.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wander17130881585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2023

Absolutely beautiful. Staff & service was great. We were a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 kids) and still couldn’t finish our plate. It was divine so elegant and welcoming (warm & clean).

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zafereen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023

Absolute class. Amazing food. Great atmosphere with a fire. Top quality service with a smile. Despite being fine dining, our kids loved the food. Recommend the lamb and for kids the antipasto platter was ideal for 2 kids. Breakfast was also exactly what we wanted. Great buffet. Will.come back.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Excursion59784241979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2023

Service was slow, food took ages to come out. $45 for 2 pieces of chicken on a plate with no sides. Dessert was good tho

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Road16907461933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.