We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disapppinting”
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
Ranked #30 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From lake, land and ocean, our seasonal New Zealand a la carte lunch and dinner brings the region's best offerings to your plate. Located at the elegant Hilton Lake Taupo, boasting stunning lake views and guided by the expertise of celebrity Chef Gareth Stewart, Bistro Lago is a culinary experience not to be missed.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Took some
Visiting friends out for lunch. Service was incredibly slow and sloppy. Food very slow to come
Out and was cold. After finishing a very average meal we waited 30 mins before our plates were taken. I caught the eye of. Waitress and her response was “What’s wrong?” I asked if our plates could be taken away .. she rolled her eyes and pulled a face.A lot will have to improve before we go back. So embarrassing as thought the Hilton was 5 star. Staff were only waiting on 3 tables.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank NickiD1397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton New Zealand, Marketing at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Kia Ora Nicki,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and review on TripAdvisor following your recent dining experience with us.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience with our service which was not reflective of the high standard that we are known for on this occasion. Our management team has reviewed your feedback and understands your frustrations.

Please reach out to our Food and Beverage Manager at Bistro Lago via email at AKLLT_assistantmanager@hilton.com if you would like to discuss this with us further.

Kind Regards,
Bistro Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2021

We went here with friends on a winter evening, I would call the atmosphere semi casual, the food was top notch, and the winelist excellent. Not inexpensive but worth a visit for a special occasion.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton New Zealand, Marketing at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Kia Ora Slamminsam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your dining experience at Bistro Lago. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food, atmoshpere and the team cared for you at this time.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bistro Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

Went for my birthday dinner and it was very very disappointing. We all ordered steak and it was so well and truely over cooked after waiting a very long time. The potatoes were dry, the corn was burnt and the steak was brown all the way through after asking for medium rare. Maccas would be a better choice!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lucia_madi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton New Zealand, Marketing at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Kia Ora Lucia,

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Please accept our sincere apology for your dining experience, we can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible guest experience, and I’m sorry we fell short in this instance.

Please reach out to our Food and Beverage Manager at Bistro Lago when you have a spare moment, and we will try our best to make this situation right for you.

Kind Regards,
Bistro Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

I booked in for a family celebration with 14 people. We were really well looked after - plenty of space, splendid service, bvery attentive, and our set menu was really nicely prepared and presented. I couldnt have expected any better.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jagmax001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton New Zealand, Marketing at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Kia Ora Jagmax001,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your dining experience at Bistro Lago. I am delighted that you enjoyed your family celebration and the team cared for you at this time.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bistro Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2021

We have visited many times. Tonight was such a total disappointment. 3 large groups commanded all the space and yet the restaurant took our booking and seemed set to ruin our special evening. We were not alone others had booked and were equally appalled with a very dismal evening. Food was average also. Kitchen clearly stressed by numbers. Never again. We will miss this place. Even as a Hilton Honours member I’ll eat out in future.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank stewart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton New Zealand, Marketing at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Kia Ora Stewart,

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Please accept our sincere apology for the service you experienced, I can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible guest experience, and I’m sorry we fell short in this instance.

Please reach out to our Food and Beverage Manager at Bistro Lago via our restaurant contact details when you have a spare moment, and we will try our best to make this situation right for you.

Kind Regards,
Bistro Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.