We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Inviting Restaurant, Good Kiwi Service and Food”
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
Ranked #30 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From lake, land and ocean, our seasonal New Zealand a la carte lunch and dinner brings the region's best offerings to your plate. Located at the elegant Hilton Lake Taupo, boasting stunning lake views and guided by the expertise of celebrity Chef Gareth Stewart, Bistro Lago is a culinary experience not to be missed.
Reviewed 6 April 2012

In short - this was a great experience. I am not a fan of Simon Gault's restaurants having had an awful meal at Euro in Auckland but this one is great. Set on the ground floor of a historic building overlooking the lake, the dining rooms is a combination of timber, white and has an almost alpine feel. The menu shows off the best of fresh NZ produce and the food beautifully prepared. Bluff Oysters, Hawkes Bay Lamb washed down by a Gimblett Gravels Syrah - the quintessential kiwi experience delivered very well by the Bistro Lago staff. PS -I went there in 2009 and has the same experience so hows that for consistency!

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 654 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had not intended on stopping at the Bistro Largo but mother nature was having a tantrum and we were looking for somewhere to wait it out before heading over to Napier.
We were greeted warmly and promptly shown a menu to look so we could see if anything interested us.
We decided that we would stay and share a Fungi pizza between us. When the pizza arrived it was plenty big enough for two. It had a very thin base which made it very hard to cut and when you picked it up the topping fell off! It was very tasty all though it did need a little extra seasoning.
The service was friendly and competent and we left feeling that we'd had a nice lunch at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThomKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2012

While staying at the Hilton we decided to indulge in the onsite dining as this allowed us both to be able to drink. The food was beautifully displayed, cooked well and tasted great. Staff were attentive, helpful without being over bearing. There was nice atmosphere and the view a major bonus. A good place for a treat, but a little too expensive to visit to often.

Happily go back again and would recommend for those looking for a "special" venue.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GreyhoundJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2012

It's a long time since we had such wonderful service and help. Both the welcome from the Matre'd and the attention to detail from Michael was better than we've ever had in any of the "flash" restaurants in Auckland!! Thanks guys, you set the tone for our few days away.

Date of visit: February 2012
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stunning location, and ambiance.
The meal provided an adequate entre, however, the grillardin overcooked the duck, and the boucher needs to be re-trained as to how the fillet should be trimmed. The sinew disapointed.
Nice saves by the maitre d' and the waitress was cheerful and competent. however we will do our higher end eating elsewhere in the future.
Deserts were so so but not memorable.

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.