We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartbreaking”

Suncourt Indian Taupo
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $3 - $25
Description: "We like to do things a little differently here at Suncourt Indian. First Indian Restaurant, who bought the Street Food, Chaat & Snacks, South Indian & Indo-Chinese dishes in Taupo. Let’s just say we're not average indian restaurant. A causal modern style eatery provides biggest menu & serving Best Butter Chicken in Taupo. We make all of our food from fresh, local ingredients daily in our kitchen. We grind our spices by hand and hire expertly trained chefs to cook in our clay oven. It’s all true to its roots, just like they make back home. Fresh, fabulous & flavorsome. Love, laughter & laid back vibes, good music, good feelings, good food. Come in at any time of the day for a bite to eat. Pickup, Takeaways & Deliveries available."
Restaurant details
Description: "We like to do things a little differently here at Suncourt Indian. First Indian Restaurant, who bought the Street Food, Chaat & Snacks, South Indian & Indo-Chinese dishes in Taupo. Let’s just say we're not average indian restaurant. A causal modern style eatery provides biggest menu & serving Best Butter Chicken in Taupo. We make all of our food from fresh, local ingredients daily in our kitchen. We grind our spices by hand and hire expertly trained chefs to cook in our clay oven. It’s all true to its roots, just like they make back home. Fresh, fabulous & flavorsome. Love, laughter & laid back vibes, good music, good feelings, good food. Come in at any time of the day for a bite to eat. Pickup, Takeaways & Deliveries available."
Reviewed 21 September 2020

As an Indian I know what a certain dish should taste like. I grew up eating it So if you think I'm exaggerating I'm not. You know when you have a hard day and looking forward to that gratification of a certain taste . I wanted to relive memories and eat Sev Puri. For those of you that do not know what this is. This is a snack of an explosion of flavours in your mouth . The recipe is made using a crisp cracker layered with boiled potatoes, tomatoes,onions, sweet sauce , spicy sauce, chat masalas, toped up with sev ( deep fried thin noddle like made from Chuck pea flour) and fresh corriander to say the least . What I got given was a cracker or Puri devoid of any potatoes , barely any sev, with tomato ketchup on it. When I questioned it I got told "the dish is not made with potatoes . We make it like this" So I replied to the rep at the counter in hindi please google the recipe and it will tell you what is ought to look and taste like. Feel sad for people Who are not acquainted with what the actual cusine ought to taste like and unable to challenge what is put forth in front of them claiming it to be a so called Indian snack. Never going there again for sure.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank naomiandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suncourtindian, Owner at Suncourt Indian Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Greetings Naomi,

We are feeling very gutted after reading your review & we do apologize that you did not enjoy your "Sev Puri" here at "Suncourt Indian Taupo. Naomi, we are a small family-owned business. We work very hard to provide good food for our customers, in every best possible situation we can. Unfortunately, in this scenario, it seems like it didn't happen. Sorry, it took us a little longer to write it back about your review. The reason behind, that we wanted to check the camera's and see where we went wrong.

Naomi, first of all, Would like to remind you that you have been visited "Suncourt Indian Restaurant" only 2 times since we have opened(In the last two years). Let me remind you, the first time you bought Lamb rogan josh from us and you did complain about that lamb rogan josh was very watery. This was your just second visit and your very first review on Trip Advisor and you are starting it with a Negative review. In your second visit (Recent), you did have Sev Puri and took Lamb Rogan Josh curry home. When you were leaving you did mention to Nihal that there was no Panner (No Cottage Cheese) in the Sev Puri and you did ask him to search on Youtube about the recipe. But Chef has been working in Kitchen has got 30 years' experience. They don't make recipes by using "YouTube". Let me explain to you, A review is also based on Service, Value of the Product, and Yes quality of the dish too. But the first thing you did, is to ruin the reputation of a small business that made a 1 Star review to our Premises. We all are humans too. Mistakes happen. But if you could have asked us and give us another chance to rectify the situation. That could have made our day. But No that's what you did not come for. You came here to make the situation worse. All the Small businesses trying to covering from COVID and a negative review can lead to a different stage. We are feeling very lucky to keep our doors open for our employees & for our shelves. Hope you do understand, where we are coming from and will give us chance to rectify.

Once again, thank you for your time and efforts.
If there is anything, you want to discuss further. Please don't hesitate to contact me Rahul Thour 0211254003 or email us suncourtindian@yahoo.com
Regards Suncourt Indian Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2020

Super tasty food and the staff are always super friendly. Never disappointed. Awesome work guys keep it up! 😊

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank jodiebA634BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suncourtindian, Owner at Suncourt Indian Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Greetings Jodie,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback about "Suncourt Indian". Our priority is good food & customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! We'll definitely share this amazing audit with the team. Sincerely looking forward to many more visits.

Warm Regards
Suncourt Indian Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

The food was delicious and the customer service was excellent. Highly recommended for the lunch items. Keep it up guys.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank mohdshoeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suncourtindian, Owner at Suncourt Indian Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Greetings Shoeb,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so delighted that you rate our service as 5 star as we strive to provide just that for all our customers. We Look forward to seeing you again soon. Hope you had a good trip to Taupo.

Warm Regards
Suncourt Indian Taupo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Been here in NZ for more than a couple of years but didn’t had such authentic Indian taste elsewhere. Their service and food stands out amongst others, if you have a taste for Indian food SunCourt is the place to go and If you’re from Delhi and missing the Delhi street food, you’re going to love this place for sure. Would definitely visit them again and give them a five star.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank AnirudhTanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suncourtindian, Owner at Suncourt Indian Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Greetings & Thank you so much, Anirudh,

Really appreciated your amazing audit here at "Suncourt Indian Taupo". It is always our pleasure serving you. You have an amazing smiling face & great lovely gesture. Your review simply made our day. Glad to hear that you enjoying the same taste as you used to enjoy back home (Delhi Street Food). We looking forward to serving you with many more visits. Thank you once again for recommending our "Street Food" Dishes to others.

Warm Regards
Suncourt Indian Taupo,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2020

Very friendly staff and the quality of food is really exceptional I can finally say that real taste of India is back.. Keep it up guys 👍

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Blackbull2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suncourtindian, Owner at Suncourt Indian Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020

Greetings Customer,

Wow – thanks for your kind remarks!! Glad to hear that you did enjoy your visit here at "Suncourt Indian Taupo". Food & hospitality both hit the top marks. We'll definitely pass on the high praise among all the staff. That's how their hard work pays off. Looking forward to serving you with many more visits.

Warm Regards
Suncourt Indian Taupo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suncourt Indian Taupo also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Suncourt Indian Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.