We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$76
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$77
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$63
View Deal
eDreamsUS$76
Expedia.comUS$77
CheapTicketsUS$77
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
15
19
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
19
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night the kitchen living area upstairs bedroom motel nz lake roomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

What’s not to like. Cathy was a lovely host who welcomed us so well. The mini house we had was very spacious for the 6 of us. The kitchen had enough appliances that we were able to cook a lovely meal. The location is spot on. 3/4/5 minute walk to everything you need. Fresh towels after one night and I think the lovely Cathy even washed out cups bless her, clean, friendly, great views of Lake Taupo (depending on which side you’re on)... If you’re a group or family this is perfect. Don’t go past here if you’re needing a comfy night in Taupo.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fordie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile

The rooms were small but ok, the bathroom desperately needed that update. It was clean and tidy. Nice and quiet. Your own parking space and the staff were very friendly. All up, good for just one night.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JacquiR268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

I had a couple of days to go fishing whilst on a NZ business trip. I decided hook up with local guide Kunio, Fly Fishing Ninja. Kunio set us up in his accommodation at Mountain View Motel in Taupo which was fantastic. Plenty of room and the perfect fly fishing accommodation in region. Kunio gave us tips on places to fish and we engaged Kunio as a guide for a day on the Tongariro river. The local knowledge was well worth it and many fish were landed. I would thoroughly recommend Kunio his experience and knowledge of the area is invaluable. This is a flyfishers paradise

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank NickF536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We booked this motel because we needed a two bedroom unit at a reasonable price. Mountain View lived up to expectation. The unit had been recently re-carpeted and was comfortable (there was refurbishment of other units going on during our stay). We liked that the bedrooms were downstairs and the lounge with lake view was upstairs, with a balcony as a plus. While the motel is not new and the kitchen and bathroom are not of the more modern design we come to expect in motels, everything was clean, well equipped and more than adequate for a stay of a few days. The hospitality of the owners could not be faulted

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank HelenW3596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

This motel is in a convenient location which is a short distance from the town centre and lake. Indeed, if you have an upstairs room, you should be easily able to make out both the lake and the mountains from your room. The room in which I stayed for 2 nights was an upstairs family room which was essentially an apartment more than than a room and which I managed to get for $95 a night which was a large discount on the actual price.

The apartment consisted of a very large living room with a large sofa, a large round table with 5 chairs, a large coffee table, a TV, a heater for cold days and paintings hanging on the wall.

Adjoining this, there was also a kitchen comprising a large sink, a Panasonic microwave, a toaster, 2 cooking rings, a fridge, a kettle with tea and coffee-making facilities and various plates, mugs, wine glasses, drinking glasses and cooking utensils.

Next to the kitchen lay the bathroom area where there was a toilet with toilet paper, a proper shower unit and 2 wash basins with shower gel and plenty of towels provided.

There were 2 bedrooms. One was a large room consisting of a large double bed and a single bed with 2 bedside cabinets either side of the double bed with a lamp mounted on each plus a chest of drawers containing extra blankets. There were also paintings mounted on the walls.The other bedroom was slightly smaller and contained 2 single beds plus a cabinet.

There was also a cupboard between the bedrooms containing extra pillows and more warm blankets as well as an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer. There were also wardrobes in both bedrooms as well as a large balcony outside the living room.

There was no free WiFi though. If you require WiFi, you will need to pay for it or just use your SIM card.

It was very quiet at the motel all night, the lady owner was very pleasant and friendly and I was extremely happy at this motel and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Eurasiatraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews