We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Winnall01

Brief stay on lake front

Review of Tui Oaks Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2024
This absolute lake front studio unit was surprisingly well equipped given that it was only that. Microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and, quite welcoming once the sun had gone down, a very efficient heater! The room was quiet, which was a surprise as it is on the main road, and very comfortable. Friendly and welcoming check-in experience.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $269
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $189
  • Hotels.com
    $200
0.6 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Agoda.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
    $160
2.0 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
$141
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $155
2.0 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Tripadvisor
    $249
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
$179
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $179
0.5 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $166
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
  • Tripadvisor
    $196
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $196
2.3 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free parking
Pool
$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $151
2.1 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $180
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $180
7.4 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
42
56
29
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
56
29
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor short walk into town room was clean across the road fantastic views great place to stay convenient location bedroom motel lake toiletries toaster units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Lost my booking costing me heaps to book somewhere else at short notice I've been staying there for 40 years never again the new owner sucks 🙃 to follow through and not loose bookings would be good and thing are getting a bit shabby now time to jog on

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Great experience, friendly helpful staff, even let us store our bikes overnight securely, everything we needed in our unit, clean & in good condition, great outlook over the lake, would definitely recommend. Good location , walking distance to local restaurant/ bar and close to town/ restaurants

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trek730388
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

We had Rm 303, 3rd floor.
We loved the fabulous view of Lake Taupo. We liked the proximity to eateries. Beds were comfy, so were pillows and sheets. Staff we saw were frirndly too.

But, this motel had its heyday in the 1980s and is in need of a full refurb. It shows. Lift was noisy (outside our room).
Traffic noise noticeable, motel is on a very busy road so couldnt leave window open.
To access the bedroom one had to go through the bathroom (toilet not separate). Or, if you were in the 2nd bedroom, you were trapped in there until the person finished in the bathroom. Light switch for bathroom in the kitchen.
No air con/heat pump. Only portable fans or oil fin heaters.
Everything tired, although clean.

Shower pressure not strong and you have to step up into it, and step down to get out of it. Could be an issue for elderly or people with mobility issues.
We thought there are newer motels that are better value in Taupo to stay at.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jvt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2022 via mobile

Was a bit disappointed as the room smelt like someone had been smoking. A good airing and spray with deodorant helped.
As we were two couple’s the bathroom configuration was not ideal you go from the lounge with 2 beds to the bedroom the only access is through the bathroom. Bit awkward

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bronwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

Lovely staff, very friendly. Motel needs updating and redecorating for the price you pay. One room small, had a small hand basin with a soap dispenser over it and you can't even brush your teeth. Traffic noise is annoying. Great views though

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WendyPk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews