We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WendyPk
Kawerau, New Zealand

Friendly staff, great views but

Review of Tui Oaks Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Nov 2022via mobile
Lovely staff, very friendly. Motel needs updating and redecorating for the price you pay. One room small, had a small hand basin with a soap dispenser over it and you can't even brush your teeth. Traffic noise is annoying. Great views though
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $197
  • Agoda.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
    $216
0.6 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$217
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.5 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$176
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Vio.com
    $174
2.0 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
decking area
$218
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $218
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Vio.com
    $196
0.8 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
$97
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $95
  • ZenHotels.com
    $87
  • Agoda.com
    $89
2.0 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
$249
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Hotels.com
    $249
1.8 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $160
0.1 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$212
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $212
  • Hotels.com
    $212
  • Expedia.com
    $212
2.3 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free parking
Pool
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $154
2.1 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$128
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotel Website
    $128
  • Agoda.com
    $152
7.4 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
42
56
29
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
56
29
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor short walk into town room was clean across the road fantastic views great place to stay convenient location bedroom motel lake toiletries toaster units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2022

It was great to be able to have our dog in one of their dog friendly units. Staff not particularly welcoming and room rather tired. Bed abit lumpy and soft, pillows flat. Mould in shower and bugs in room.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LynneW1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2022 via mobile

We stayed on the top floor and the view was spectacular. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Very convenient location. Great value for money. The hotel manager was friendly and helpful. A straight forward check in and check process.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Obviously changed focus to now housing displaced people

Rooms with 3 dogs in barked all night

Intimidating people on walkways smoking and very noisy thru night
No consideration other guests i wasnt going to myself at risk to tell them to tone down

Yes motel is old but gone downhill very quickly
STEER CLEAR

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank rambo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

Fantastic panoramic view of the lake , very spacious room which was clean and spacious, there was heating in the bedroom and the louge. Very friendly hosts and my dog ruby enjoyed her stay too. The location is fantastic, easy walk to town. Very hard to find dog friendly accommodation
Lynda and John

Room tip: we were on the top floor with super views
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndam139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2022

This is a wonderful motel. Fantastic views. Spotlessly clean. Great value for money. Communication was good. Thoroughly recommend. Lake side walks and a warm swimming spot. Right on the lakeside for cycling and walking. Centre of town a fifteen minute walk.

Room tip: Ask for beachfront
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 825gilians
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diane Bridgeman, General Manager at Tui Oaks Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2022

Many thanks Gillian, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews