We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tyack
Townsville, Australia

Tui oaks was our guardian angel

Review of Tui Oaks Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jul 2019
Sandra & John were our guardian angels when disaster struck us on our trip through North Island. A truck lost part of its load ahead and caused our car to be stranded 30mins north of Taupo on the highway.
The tow truck driver dropped us to Tui Oaks and immediately Sandra and John made sure we were looked after, they found us phone chargers, made sure the kids had breakfast the next day. They went way above and beyond to make sure we were OK and comfortable.
The rooms we stayed in was extremely clean, roomy and comfortable. The hotel was right next door the the best food we've eaten for most of the trip.
I honestly don't know how my stress levels would have coped if we hadn't stayed where we did. We had a 24hr delay with all of our luggage and passports at our other hotel 2hrs away near the ski fields so it was extremely stressful time with 2 kids.
We are forever grateful to Sandra and John, they showed us that there is a silver lining behind everything.

Thank you
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tuioaks, Manager at Tui Oaks Motel, responded to this review
Responded 18 Jul 2019
Hi Angela, thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we were more than happy to help you and hope you all enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Jolly Good Fellows were also pleased you enjoyed your meal there. Hope to see you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $269
  • Priceline
    $269
0.5 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $189
  • Priceline
    $197
0.6 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Agoda.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
    $160
2.0 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
$155
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $141
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $155
2.0 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Hotels.com
    $249
1.8 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
$179
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $179
0.5 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $166
0.4 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $196
2.3 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free parking
Pool
$170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Vio.com
    $130
  • Priceline
    $170
2.1 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • Hotel Website
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $180
7.4 km from Tui Oaks Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
42
56
29
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
56
29
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor short walk into town room was clean across the road fantastic views great place to stay convenient location bedroom motel lake toiletries toaster units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019

Good location, great view from lower floor, good size room but hotel itself bit dated. Very clean and reasonable price. Easy parking. Booked through Booking.com and advised to pay on arrival. Did this when we arrived only to be told later we’d paid twice as staff had done payment before our arrival. No probs with refund. Lift was bit dodgy. Nice staff.

Room tip: 3rd floor rooms have expansive views of lake and mountains. We were on lower floor, still had nice view though.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sueandjohn1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2019

When we stopped for gas on our 2+ day drive from Wellington to Auckland, one of the attendants asked us where we were going. When we told him that we wanted to stop for the night inTaupo, he suggested we stay at the Tui Oaks Motel Inn. He told us to ask for the room in the front with a view of the lake. We decided to take his advice and on the chance that we could get a room without a reservation, we found the motel easily on the main highway. The woman in charge was very welcoming and told us the only thing we should be aware of is the elevator. It was the first one installed in Taupo and it behaved like it was. When the elevator landed on the floor we were on, the mechanism suddenly "shuttered" and then there was a bump which jolted us a bit. When we left the elevator, I noticed there were dead bugs on the ground and was told by the woman who greeted us that it was normal for that time of year (November). Even then we were not too upset, but when we saw our room, we looked at each other in amazement. Where would be put our suitcases? The room was so small there was literally was no room for our luggage. We piled everything up and had to maneuver our way into the bathroom. The view from the window was beautiful, but we could not even pull out the chairs to sit at the small table on the side of the bed. As I remember, there was a coffee maker but no hooks or racks in the bathroom for towels. The room was clean, but not large enough for a couple.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Marcia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

We were in room 302 which had a superb view of the lake, room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom clean and good water pressure and had the basic facilities for breakfast, toaster, microwave and kettle. Staff were polite and helpful. Location was very good, walking distance into the town centre and pubs for evening meals.
Access to the room is either lift or stairs. The lift has small small bounces when it stops for some reason.
I would definitely recommend accommodation here.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P9058WXronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2019

My husband and I stayed here for four nights as we were at the motor racing. The Motor Inn is dated and has not had a face lift inside or out for some years. The cleanliness was not up to scratch but in saying that the linen was clean and towels changed daily. The Manager was very accommodating when it came to parking our trailer and truck on the last night.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindermargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Room was basic but very clean and had everything we needed. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. We popped in on the offchance they would have a room early in January - staff were very apologetic the only room they had didn't have lake views. Didn't matter to us and we were very happy with the price

Room tip: Lake view rooms are obviously desirable but ours with no view had no road noise either
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilAliP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews