We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gables Lakefront Motel
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay ”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing place, location, staff were friendly and attentive. Private Hot pools in some rooms. Loved it, would definitely return! Visited as part of honeymoon and longer trip in NZ. Best accommodation so far (been here 2 weeks)

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kayleighmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Hi Kayleighmd,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you both and congratulations on your wedding. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities. It is great to hear that our place is the best that you have stayed in so far. We wish you all the best for the future and the rest of your travels. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    64
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
218
360
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Gables Lakefront Motel is excellent. The rooms are a nice size, always kept very clean & modern. We noticed a few updates in our room from our first stay, good to see they just keep getting better!

The views of the lake are amazing, it’s a lovely walk along the lake front to town with a coffee cart on the way.

Peter and Penny are fabulous hosts, they are absolutely lovely, they go the extra mile for guests, always out talking to guests, answering questions and making sure everyone has what they need to ensure they enjoy their stay.

An added bonus! There are picnic tables and umbrellas out the front, where you can enjoy meal times in the sun with your family.

Already booked our next stay!!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Hi Bryce C,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to see you all again and we are pleased that you noticed our improvements, like full mysky facilities, to make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you all again at Easter time and wish you all the best. We really enjoy your company and our morning chats. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Great facilties, immaculately clean and comfortable units,friendly, helpful hosts and homely touches.
Perfect location, directly opposite the beach and close to all that Taupo has to offer but also quiet and relaxing. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Hi MarkAmber,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased that you enjoyed your unit and all our facilities. We wish you all the best and look forward to your next visit. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I stayed at superior room with my boyfriend, and we definitely loved it here! The motel is just in front of the lake, so we can see the beautiful view all the time. The room is clean and modern, also there is everything what you need even the delicious homemade cookies! Penny and Peter are very friendly and kind, they absolutely give you a warm welcome. I would love to come back here again!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Hi Yuka S,
Thanks for the awesome review and kind words. It was our pleasure to host you both and we really enjoyed your company. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities and we look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Spacious clean room. Great location. Love the powerful shower and cookies! Peter and penny are perfect hosts, they make you feel at home. Will be back, it's the only place to stay in Taupo. Shep and Sue

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shepandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Hi shepandsue,
Thanks for the great review. It was awesome to catch up with you both again and we are pleased that you enjoyed your family unit and all our facilities. Hope the rest of your holidays in Taupo go well and you catch some fish. Take care and we look forward to catching up in May sometime.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.8 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
1.0 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.1 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.2 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
1.6 km away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Lakefront Motel

Property: Gables Lakefront Motel
Address: 130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price range (per night): $161 - $246
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gables Lakefront Motel is located on the lakefront at Taupo. The 9 superior one bedroom units have stunning views and each has its own hot pool. The 3 deluxe one bedroom have views of the lake and share a jacuzzi. There are also two, 2 bedroom family units and a 3 bedroom family unit. The family units have access to the jacuzzi. All apartments at Gables have free WiFi access, 43 inch TVs, either king size beds or super kingsize, kitchens or kitchenettes, outdoor furniture and many more facilities. We welcome you at Gables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gables Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing