We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gables Lakefront Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$554
US$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cove Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$252
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
758
74
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
74
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieshot tubacross the roadhosts peterlake taupocoffee cartprivate spa poollittle touchesgreat hostsup to datecomfortable bednew zealandgreat spotfriendly ownersbeautiful lakesky tvonly stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Gables Lakefront Motel is excellent. The rooms are a nice size, always kept very clean & modern. We noticed a few updates in our room from our first stay, good to see they just keep getting better!

The views of the lake are amazing, it’s a lovely walk along the lake front to town with a coffee cart on the way.

Peter and Penny are fabulous hosts, they are absolutely lovely, they go the extra mile for guests, always out talking to guests, answering questions and making sure everyone has what they need to ensure they enjoy their stay.

An added bonus! There are picnic tables and umbrellas out the front, where you can enjoy meal times in the sun with your family.

Already booked our next stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Hi Bryce C,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to see you all again and we are pleased that you noticed our improvements, like full mysky facilities, to make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you all again at Easter time and wish you all the best. We really enjoy your company and our morning chats. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Great facilties, immaculately clean and comfortable units,friendly, helpful hosts and homely touches.
Perfect location, directly opposite the beach and close to all that Taupo has to offer but also quiet and relaxing. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Hi MarkAmber,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased that you enjoyed your unit and all our facilities. We wish you all the best and look forward to your next visit. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I stayed at superior room with my boyfriend, and we definitely loved it here! The motel is just in front of the lake, so we can see the beautiful view all the time. The room is clean and modern, also there is everything what you need even the delicious homemade cookies! Penny and Peter are very friendly and kind, they absolutely give you a warm welcome. I would love to come back here again!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yuka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Hi Yuka S,
Thanks for the awesome review and kind words. It was our pleasure to host you both and we really enjoyed your company. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities and we look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Spacious clean room. Great location. Love the powerful shower and cookies! Peter and penny are perfect hosts, they make you feel at home. Will be back, it's the only place to stay in Taupo. Shep and Sue

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank shepandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Hi shepandsue,
Thanks for the great review. It was awesome to catch up with you both again and we are pleased that you enjoyed your family unit and all our facilities. Hope the rest of your holidays in Taupo go well and you catch some fish. Take care and we look forward to catching up in May sometime.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights during December, the location was perfect with great modern accommodation together with some little homely touches that make for a great stay. Peter the host looked after us perfectly and should we go back to Lake Taupo again I would definitely stay here.

10 out of 10

Room Tip: Most rooms are Lake facing, there are a couple behind the hotel reception with less view but still lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paaaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hi Paaaam,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you all. We are pleased that you enjoyed your unit and all our facilities. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again one day. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews