We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cove Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
777
77
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
777
77
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieshot tubacross the roadhosts peterlake tauponight lightcoffee cartprivate spa poollittle touchesgreat hostsup to datecomfy bedgreat spotfriendly ownersonly stayed one nightsky tva great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

This is an amazing Motel.... The rooms are large and comfortable, the interiors are very modern and there are rooms with there own private pool....

It's about 15 Min walk to town but the views along the lake are really worth it, we checked in, had a guided tour of the rooms, were given dinner recommendations and a local cab firm number....

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Hi philip+symonds-b...,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you all and I was glad I could help you with dinner reservations and transport.We really enjoyed having you all stay with us and I enjoyed talking to you all. Hope you had a good trip to Napier and all is well. We wish you all the best and hopefully we will see you all again.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

I do a lot of travelling around the North Island for business, and I can say that Gables Lakefront in Taupo is the best place I stay. Has everything you need from the heat pump, spa pool, big flat screen TV, cooking facilities, SKY digital, and great views straight out onto the lake. Peter and Penny are really friendly owner-operators too. My girlfriend and I have booked in for a holiday soon.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camdowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Hi camdowner,
Thanks for the great review. It is always a pleasure to host you and it is good that you find our place really comfortable after a hard day doing business. We look forward to seeing you back again soon with you partner. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Stayed here for one night and just love it! Nice and welcoming staff and clean and big rooms. I recommend! Equipment level was good. The place was little bit far from town center, but it was okay for us, the lake view was beautiful :)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oili_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Hi Oili_52,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you all. We are pleased that you enjoyed our place and liked Lake Taupo. We wish you all the best for your future travels and maybe hope to see you again one day. Take care and safe travels.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

On the search for accommodation for 4 people (myself, partner, partner's mum and my grandmother), I was captured by the high rating. Upon arriving and getting inside the family apartment it was easy to see why.

We stayed in the 3 bedroom family apartment. The rooms were comfortably spacious, the apartment was so clean, so well kept, and stylish. And Peter was so friendly, despite the Pikachu hat I was wearing.

We made use of the spa pool, and while we were only there one night I can see the laundry and ice machine would come in handy as well.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gatekepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Hi gatekepa,
Thanks for the awesome review. It was lovely to meet you all. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities. No worries about the Pikachu hat ,I thought it looked cool. We wish you and your family all the best and we hope to see you all again soon. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful motel, magnificent location beautiful view across the lake. Comfortable, clean, everything we could need and more, apples and biscuits a nice thought. Karen was extremely helpful and very friendly, gave us good information for Taupo, and also for our onward journey. A home away from home, we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Hi Ros R,
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely to meet you both. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your room and our facilities and liked the homemade cookies and apples. We hope the rest of your trip goes well and we wish you all the best. Safe travels.
Kind regards,
Karen & Richard
( Relief Managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews