We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$198
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ruth N
Auckland, New Zealand

A quiet, clean, relaxing stop over in Taupo

Review of Executive Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2020
We had just one night in Taupo to break a long drive. our room was at the back of the block which meant that there was no road noise, but we still enjoyed the lake view from our part of the terrace. A fabulous welcome, warm and clean unit, lovely shower pressure, good lighting, a more than adequate kitchenette, and close enough to the restaurant area on the lakefront in town. Safe parking around the back. Will definitely make this my new 'go to' in Taupo for my regular long distance drives.
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: Back rooms to dampen road noise, but there really isn't much noise now with the Bypass.
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$194
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom unit- twin beds
Booking.com
$189
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
    $189
0.6 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$274
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
decking area
Tripadvisor
$278
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $278
0.5 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
Tripadvisor
$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$204
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Executive Motel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $97
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Executive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Algotels
7.6 km from Executive Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
157
79
26
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
157
79
26
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2019

From the moment I called to book, Gill was so accommodating and didn't falter from arrival till departure. The property is lake front and just the right distance to town, quiet and SPOTLESS! The staff are friendly and extremely great at what they do. I only wish I could have stayed longer. We will be back.

Room tip: Just let Gill know what you need and she will ensure the right room for the best stay.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saffron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The room is well set up and comfortable with good amenities and wifi. The check in was friendly and the motel is well situated close to the lake and town. I would happily stay there again

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeterI1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2019

Our host was extremely helpful when I was making our booking & very welcoming when we arrived.
The beds were comfortable & the kitchen was well supplied with good utensils & fresh milk etc.
Our unit was warm & comfortable.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christinenz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

Am a regular guest now as this motel is ideal. Away from the noise of town on the lakefront so still handy to everything.
My favourite rooms are the King studios on the balcony the bed is large and comfy ( and I think almost new) Love my. spa bath too and that I can get bath salts at reception too
The staff are all so good and the motel is very clean BUT now they have gone another step up and have LOYALTY CARDS!
Thanks all will be back asap

Room tip: Ring them and ask for King room upstairs if you can
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chinadollnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

My husband and myself stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Wellington earlier this month.
Well, what can I say, the owners Gill, Steve and Macho ( the most adorable dog ever) we’re so friendly and helpful.
We stayed in Executive King Suite and with my husband being 6ft 2”, he was really happy with the King bed and it was soooo comfortable.
This Motel is spotlessly clean with everything you could want in your room and only a short walk to town. If you want to go swimming they provide beach towels for you so you don’t have to take your bath towels from the room. Everything is thought of.
We have booked a return stay in the Summer and will be recommending this Motel to all our friends.
Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Room tip: All rooms look lovely and comfortable.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loraynewilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews