We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rides Ever”
Review of Rapids Jet

Rapids Jet
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.98*
and up
Rapids Jet NZ's Most Exciting Jet Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Jet Boat is a New Zealand icon, and jet boating is a favourite activity for Kiwis. Set in the beautiful Aratiatia Scenic Reserve is New Zealand’s best white water Jet Boat Ride, Rapids Jet.Conveniently located just 15 minutes drive north of Taupo and 50 minutes south of Rotorua, Rapids Jet operates on the biggest rapids for commercial jetboating in New Zealand.Shoot through a narrow canyon, be exhilarated by spins on crystal clear waters, spot a trout and surf the pressure waves of the awesome Nga AwaPurua rapids. Take time to view the amazing surrounds of Aratiatia Scenic Reserve, and learn about the wildlife and history of the area with your Kiwi owner/drivers Rusty, Jimmy and Gazza.Our 35 minute blast guarantees an adrenaline rush! Since 1993, over 140,000 passengers aged 5-89 years have safely experienced the thrill of real white water jet boating with Rapids Jet.We have thousands of hours experience driving jet boats both in New Zealand and overseas, so you can be sure you are in safe hands with Rapids Jet. Let us share our love of jet boating with you, book a ride on Rapids Jet today.
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Very personal service and fantastic ride. Recommend it above all others. The staff were very friendly and the driver extremely experienced and had a great sense of humour.

Thank Sher577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

We're glad that you enjoyed our friendly service! We enjoy meeting all of our customers and giving them the experience of a lifetime. Thanks for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2017

This was my second visit for another thrilling experience over the rapids and exhilarating 370 degree spins. The staff are very friendly and obliging and our driver Simon was awesome. He was knowledgeable about the history of the river and area including the movies made in the location. His driving was exceptional and the ride through and over the rapids was 'out of this world'. In my opinion this was more fun than the rides I've had on the Huka jet. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Thank kiwiman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your second visit with us! Simon is awesome isn't he?! Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review, and we look forward to you coming back for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

If you love adventure and thrill , you have to try Rapids jet . It is awesome experience and safe to do as a family activity. Friendly staff and thrilling experience.
Must try .

Thank 132rimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

We're all about the adventure and thrill, and we're glad that you enjoyed your ride with us! Thank you for your great review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The customer service was amazing and the ride was even better. Would recommend to everyone and would love to do it again.

Thank Kodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

It was great to have you out here Kodie! Thank you for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you out here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Would highly recommend this if you're in the area. It's great fun, not quite as scary as I was expecting, which is probably best! We had front seats which I was glad of as we didn't get too wet, also had a great view.

Best to book in advance to avoid disappointment.

Thank Laurence1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

What better way to see the beautiful Waikato River than from the front seats of a jet boat?! Thanks for your great review Keith, we're glad that you had a fun time with us! That is a great piece of advice - although bookings are not essential, they are recommended to ensure that you can come at a date and time that suits you best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rapids Jet also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Rapids Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing