We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilling Experience”
Review of Rapids Jet

Rapids Jet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jet Boat is a New Zealand icon, and jet boating is a favourite activity for Kiwis. Set in the beautiful Aratiatia Scenic Reserve is New Zealand’s best white water Jet Boat Ride, Rapids Jet.Conveniently located just 15 minutes drive north of Taupo and 50 minutes south of Rotorua, Rapids Jet operates on the biggest rapids for commercial jetboating in New Zealand.Shoot through a narrow canyon, be exhilarated by spins on crystal clear waters, spot a trout and surf the pressure waves of the awesome Nga AwaPurua rapids. Take time to view the amazing surrounds of Aratiatia Scenic Reserve, and learn about the wildlife and history of the area with your Kiwi owner/drivers Rusty, Jimmy and Gazza.Our 35 minute blast guarantees an adrenaline rush! Since 1993, over 140,000 passengers aged 5-89 years have safely experienced the thrill of real white water jet boating with Rapids Jet.We have thousands of hours experience driving jet boats both in New Zealand and overseas, so you can be sure you are in safe hands with Rapids Jet. Let us share our love of jet boating with you, book a ride on Rapids Jet today.
Newark, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thrilling Experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This was my second visit for another thrilling experience over the rapids and exhilarating 370 degree spins. The staff are very friendly and obliging and our driver Simon was awesome. He was knowledgeable about the history of the river and area including the movies made in the location. His driving was exceptional and the ride through and over the rapids was 'out of this world'. In my opinion this was more fun than the rides I've had on the Huka jet. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2017
Helpful?
Thank kiwiman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this review, 12 June 2017
We're glad you enjoyed your second visit with us! Simon is awesome isn't he?! Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review, and we look forward to you coming back for a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    68
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thrilling experience ”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

If you love adventure and thrill , you have to try Rapids jet . It is awesome experience and safe to do as a family activity. Friendly staff and thrilling experience.
Must try .

Visited June 2017
Helpful?
Thank 132rimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this review, 9 June 2017
We're all about the adventure and thrill, and we're glad that you enjoyed your ride with us! Thank you for your great review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The customer service was amazing and the ride was even better. Would recommend to everyone and would love to do it again.

Visited June 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this review, 9 June 2017
It was great to have you out here Kodie! Thank you for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you out here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great thrill ride!”
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Would highly recommend this if you're in the area. It's great fun, not quite as scary as I was expecting, which is probably best! We had front seats which I was glad of as we didn't get too wet, also had a great view.

Best to book in advance to avoid disappointment.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Laurence1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this review, 2 June 2017
What better way to see the beautiful Waikato River than from the front seats of a jet boat?! Thanks for your great review Keith, we're glad that you had a fun time with us! That is a great piece of advice - although bookings are not essential, they are recommended to ensure that you can come at a date and time that suits you best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Rapids Jet is the best Jet Boat ride on the Waikato”
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Took my Sister and our Nephew and Niece from America today on this ride. I have done a lot of Jet Boating and this experience rates right up there as one of the best I've ever experienced.. From the great professional friendly staff, to the beautifully balanced boat, to the driver who was awesome. The thrills of going down the rapids, 180 degree turns, fast boating, exciting driving, to learning some of the history of the river and surrounding area,
This is an experience I would recommend for any one as one TO DO if your coming to Taupo.

Visited May 2017
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this review, 2 June 2017
Wow Karen, that is awesome to hear! We're glad to hear that you had such a thrilling experience with us and we look forward to seeing you back out here again. Thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rapids Jet also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Rapids Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing