We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social Club trip ”
Review of Rapids Jet

Rapids Jet
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.01*
and up
Rapids Jet NZ's Most Exciting Jet Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jet Boat is a New Zealand icon, and jet boating is a favourite activity for Kiwis. Set in the beautiful Aratiatia Scenic Reserve is New Zealand’s best white water Jet Boat Ride, Rapids Jet.Conveniently located just 15 minutes drive north of Taupo and 50 minutes south of Rotorua, Rapids Jet operates on the biggest rapids for commercial jetboating in New Zealand.Shoot through a narrow canyon, be exhilarated by spins on crystal clear waters, spot a trout and surf the pressure waves of the awesome Nga AwaPurua rapids. Take time to view the amazing surrounds of Aratiatia Scenic Reserve, and learn about the wildlife and history of the area with your Kiwi owner/drivers Rusty, Jimmy and Gazza.Our 35 minute blast guarantees an adrenaline rush! Since 1993, over 140,000 passengers aged 5-89 years have safely experienced the thrill of real white water jet boating with Rapids Jet.We have thousands of hours experience driving jet boats both in New Zealand and overseas, so you can be sure you are in safe hands with Rapids Jet. Let us share our love of jet boating with you, book a ride on Rapids Jet today.
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I went on the Rapids jet with 5 of my work mate, this was an amazing trip. The team at Rapides Jet boat are awesome very professional and puts safety first. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Taupo, I will be definitely going back.

Thank Kevcath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, General Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

It was a pleasure to have your group out here with us! We're glad to hear that you all had a great time, and look forward to having you back out here. Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Rapids Jet staff were fantastic, down to earth, lots of fun. The ride itself is great, with a few stops along the way for the driver to talk you through some of the movie locations in this spot (namely The Hobbit) and about the river. It was informative and fun. Lots of 'rapids' to jet over.

Thank Lyse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Isn't it awesome that part of the The Hobbit was filmed on this beautiful part of the river?! We're glad that you enjoyed your ride with us, and thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Good.for family n singles. Down 2 rivers which provide good views and Rapids. Jet was magnificent as it jets thru low level of water. D video and pics taken on jet n drones will also provide excellent bird eye views.

Thank Chong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for the review, very kind words. Our Photographers do a fantastic job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

The people who run and work here are absolute legends! Soo welcoming and soo much fun! We did our ride in autumn and it was raining a fair bit. Despite the rain we managed to have a full boat leaving at 2:30pm. We thought with the rain you wouldn't be able to see much, but they provide you with a full length water proof, life jacket and glasses to help you see in the rain! It was sooooo much fun! Spinning and turning, I flew off my seat a few times! The driver seemed to have as much fun as we all were! We got to drive through rapids and see the dam up close.

Our driver was full of knowledge of the area and we got to learn about all scenes that had been made on this stretch of river - such as The Hobbit and Yogi Bear, pointing our the exact locations.

Really glad we chose Rapids Jet as there are a lot of other thrill seeking adventures to chose from in Taupo!

Even with the rain, this was one of the best things we have done :)

Thank Tianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for the kind words and glowing review! We are so glad that you had such a good adventure with us! The stretch of river we operate on is full of secrets and our drivers know them all! We hope you have a fantastic holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

This is not because they cancel due to weather. It is the fact on the phone they said come in there still running even though another company has stop due to rain. When we arrived they said for us to wait to see if it cleared. 15 mins later weather had not changed so they cancel it. The thing is they said they would be running and they get us to drive the 15mins to their location to wait another 15mins to tell us it has been canceled. There a lot better thing we could be doing on holidays.

Thank Shelle1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapidsjet, Front Office Manager at Rapids Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

It is unfortunate that we didn't get a break in the weather so we couldn't get you out on the boat. We thought there was the possibility that it would clear and we could get you out there. We would rather cancel the trip than send you out there in bad weather and not have you enjoy the experience. We apologise for any inconvenience this has caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rapids Jet also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Rapids Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing