We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$154
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$154
TravelocityUS$154
Orbitz.comUS$154
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
78
26
6
1
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
78
26
6
1
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom unit quiet location would stay again spa bath comfortable beds stayed for two nights close to town a great place to stay hosts maggie supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2021

We had the one bedroom, shower studio unit. It was immaculate, spacious and had everything we needed. Greeted in a very friendly and efficient manner. The motel was not quite as close to the center of Taupo as we had hoped, but on saying that it was certainly not far out of town.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2021

I booked here for 2 nights for April 2021, I booked a 1 bedroom suite.

Upon reading a review about the hotel cancelling bookings at the last minute,
I called the owner to check that our booking was secure and to check if they were a winz hotel. He advised that they lied to this customer as they don't accept group bookings. When I questioned why they would lie about it, just dont accept a group booking, simple, don't accept the booking and cancel at the last minute then lie about the reason.
His response was to cancel my booking!! Honestly this is just nutty, when travellers book accommodation we expect to have honest dealings with the accomodation provider and not be lied to or have your booking cancelled at the last minute.

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank CLOUDLVOER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Liang, Owner at Ashbrook Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

This review is a false statement, as our motel is one of the few motels that NEVER accepted WINZ emergency house guest to stay. The reason your booking has been cancelled, because when you booked on booking.com, you have provided an invaild kiwi bank debit card, however when we requested an update of your card details, we never got back from you, As in the system of booking.com, your booking will be automatic cancelled if you have not responded to our request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

We booked this motel months in advance for 16 people. A few days before we had a phone call to say our booking was canceled as they are now a WINZ motel. This left us in a position unable to get accommodation for us all at another place.
ALSO another booking we had for May, when we rang to check our booking, the manager said no they were not a WINZ motel, the half an hour later rang and canceled our booking for 3 people. What on earth is going on here. This motel needs to be removed from booking.com as they seem to cancel at the last minute. As a WINZ motel I believe preference is given to WINZ over traveller's. Not very impressed at all.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2021 via mobile

The Ashbrook Motel is in a good location with a lot of the centre of Taupo walkable from the motel. We were met with a cheerful welcome and found our unit to be very clean and very modern. Our unit (number 10) was rather dark but had good lighting. To be recommended.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2021

We stayed for two nights as a family of four in a two bedroom unit. The unit was spacious, quiet and extremely clean and tidy. The spa bath was an added bonus. Nice touch to have a separate bin for recycling in the well appointed, totally functional kitchenette.

The location was in a quiet street and convenient to the big yellow supermarket and the main shopping centre. Even though they were fully booked we heard no other guests.

The host was friendly, helpful and professional and he and his staff did a great job. We definitely would stay again. The best rate was booking directly with the motel.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews