We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
140
67
19
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
67
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant on site close to town great location spa bath large bathroom conference room one bedroom unit new owners walking distance heat pump restaurants and bars short stroll fantastic stay underfloor heating the managers stayed for two nights enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We booked for 4 nights, it is less than a 5 minute walk to the shopping centre and the restaurants and bars.

The unit was very clean and well laid out with a good supply of teas and coffee, the 2 seater couch is great to sit and chill on or to watch the tv. The staff were very helpful on our arrival and subsequent visits when we asked for some towels to take to the hot springs. The unit was cleaned each day and items restocked if needed, there is a Thai restaurant attached to the lodge and you can get a drink at the bar to take back to your room.

Overall a very pleasant and well organised property, would be happy to recommend it for a stay in Taupo, good cost and close to all the local amenities.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinvanRooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you Martin
We really do appreciate your confirming you were as comfortable as we were wanting you to be - and that our staff were reposvie to your needs.


Yes, the on-site Restaurant is very popular, and as you say we are but a block away from the Town Centre, and Lake Edge Walkway.

Hopefully we shall see you again soon, perhaps try one of our 1 Bedroom Spa units with a King bed and a 3 seater sofa - plus a 43" SMART TV in the Lounge and another in the Bedroom.

Rgds, Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Very friendly staff and a great motel. The room was clean and modern. We had a twin with queen size beds in both rooms. There is also a cooker , micro wave etc. Great location about 3 min walk to centre of town . Nice Thai restaurant on the side and really nice grub. They also let you eat in your room if you wish.
I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this motel to every one
Thank you for a nice stay

Room tip: All rooms top quality
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kentishman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi Kentishman
What a great review. Thank you.

We really appreciate your feedback on your stay with us, as it lets us know that what we are doing at PRINCE is working well for our guests - and encourages us to stay on track.

We hope the rest of your NZ trip is everything you are wanting it to be, and wish you both all the very best for the future.

With our very warm regards, Mairi, Ron, and Rachel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

My daughters (11 and 13) and I stayed for two nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly Manager. The check in process was easy and he gave us a great explanation of our room. The location was fantastic and rooms very tidy, warm (being winter) modern and spacious. We didn’t get to eat at the on-site (Thai) restaurant but judging by the aroma I’m sure it’s delicious. Highly recommend for those wanting to be close to town and the lakefront. We will book here again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jade2014900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hi Jade
It was nice to meet you and your girls, and we appreciate your kindly taking the time to write a review letting us know you were warm and comfortable.

Yes, we do have a great location with good parking, and our rooms are more spacious than many other properties - with great winter heating fast unlimited WiFi, and lots of hot water!

We hope to see you again next time you are after a break in Taupo. In the meantime we hope all is well for you and yours.

Kind regards, Mairi, Ron, and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

great location close to the promenade and restaurants. free parking, good space in rooms. coffee and tee provided, free wifi. small kitchen present with spa bathroom. the only issue we had was online payments and some communication problems due to this issue.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank golbetracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi golbetracker
Thank you for your review, it is good to know you took full advantage of our great location, spacious rooms, Free and Fast WiFi, and the Spa Bath in your bathroom.


We have no recollection of someone having an issue with on-line payments as currently we do not offer that option at PRINCE. Yes, we do collect guests credit card details to secure the booking - but we only seek payment on arrival.

We hope the rest of your trip went well, and you have some great memories to take away with you.

Kind regards, Mairi, Ron, and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

had a fantastic stay no complaints thank you for the wonderful service a great communication big rooms for a great price would definitely visit again and recommend to others. was also good to wake up warm while still adjusting to the taupo weather

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ashstur666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hi ashtur666
Thank you for letting us know that our team looked after you well, that you appreciated our spacious and well priced units - and that our in-floor heating made your stay warm and cosy.


We look forward to meeting you again soon, and in the interim send you our best.

Kind regards, Mairi, Rachel, and Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews