We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$209
Priceline
$209
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
$198
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michael K
Sydney, Australia

Amazing staff and a wonderful restaurant

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2024
Great property in a great location. Walking distance to main area of New Plymouth including shops, waterfront and supermarket. Large well appointed room with plenty of parking.

Great, friendly service from reception (Mark) who was great to talk with and also provided some really good sightseeing options for us.

Also enjoyed a fantastic meal at the restaurant and incredible service from Manish.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Have a meal there. It is pretty good.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesh Bala, Other at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki, responded to this review
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Kia Ora Michael,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are truly blessed to have such a motivated team that enjoy the industry. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Ngā Mihi,
Shailaja Bhandari
Food and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $102
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.1 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.4 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$231
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $231
  • Vio.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $231
1.4 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Room service
Expedia.com
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $102
  • Agoda.com
    $83
  • Trip.com
    $104
0.4 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
Booking.com
$190
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $190
1.4 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Booking.com
$255
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $255
1.1 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
One bedroom unit
Booking.com
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $181
  • Expedia.com
    $198
1.2 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfy King
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $176
4.8 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $140
  • eDreams
    $140
2.6 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$75
  • Priceline
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Expedia.com
    $75
2.2 km from Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
283
158
36
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
283
158
36
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast superior room under cover early check enjoyed our stay mini bar great shower busy road comfortable bed main road stayed for nights new zealand pukekura park accor plymouth sauna mirror
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

I had a one night stay here and overall it was a good stay but there are a few things that could be changed to make it even better.

Check in was straightforward and pretty stock standard. I had an executive room on the first floor on entering the room I was pleased the air conditioning was running because it was very humid outside. The hand written welcome note was also a really nice touch- I really believe the small things make a big difference. The room itself was quite modern but did feel a bit sparse- it could have done with maybe a sofa or something just to fill the space a bit. It also really bothered me that the tv wasn’t straight in front of the bed but was quite a bit off to the side- it did have casting capability though which was great. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was great. Massive shower. Unfortunately my biggest negative which definitely could be an easy fix is the lack of blackout curtains. I really dislike being woken up in the morning to sun shining through the curtains. Another negative (albeit not within the hotels control) is the amount of noise from the hallway I could hear people talking loudly and counting the room numbers out loud, late at night and doors banging and the room service trolley going up and down. Maybe this could be avoided by asking for a room at the end of the corridor. I was going to ask if they had ear plugs, but couldn’t be bothered with the hassle so just lived with it. I didn’t have dinner at the in-house restaurant because when I went down to the restaurant I was completely ignored and kind of left standing awkwardly at the bar a guy working there mumbled something but wasn’t sure if he was talking to me or his colleague. It wasn’t even half busy, so I decided based on that experience it was better to eat elsewhere. I did have breakfast the next day there and it was fine, certainly not the best but not the worst. Again the service was a little bit dicey, every time I got up to get food the waiter would keep asking for my room number (thinking I’ve just arrived) so definitely didn’t feel super welcome the fact he couldn’t remember he’s asked me 3 times already. Based on my experience I’d struggle to say that my stay was good value for money. I think it has a really solid core product but the rooms just need a bit of something extra to make it a bit less sterile (and get rid of the ghastly carpet) whip the restaurant back into shape and it really could be something special. Would I stay again? Hmm maybe but probably not.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank liam404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesh Bala, Other at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia Ora,
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki. From your above feedback we can understand that we did not meet your expectations and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We have carefully noted your feedback We take this opportunity to gain experience and improve ourselves.
I can assure you that this is not our regular level of service, and we value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in a manner befitting the reputation of the brand.

Ngā Mihi,
Shailaja Bhandari
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

We were here before, this is our second visit to the Novotel in New Plymouth. It is the perfect place to stay and explore all the special places near and around New Plymouth. To mention a few Lake Rotokare birdlife a must, Mount Egmont viewing platform, Dawson falls, goblin forest, Wilkie’s pool and many more…

New Menu is very nice we had a few dinners here and all i can say „bravo“ great tasting comfort food delivered consistently to an high culinary standard.
The service is excellent and non-intrusive. It is not fine dining, good portions, well presented and very tasty. We tried every dish on the new menu and every dish was unique in every aspect. Lamb rump, goat curry , pork belly were my favourites but all dishes on menu were good.

Desserts also very nice my favourite was tiramisu and the chefs ‘version’ of cheese cake was very addictive . Restaurant staff is very friendly and make you feel at home. Happy hour is good value too, rooms clean and well serviced. Samantha in reception deserves also mentioning her friendly assistance was very much appreciated. We will be back again, compared with other Accor hotel you are definitely one that deserves a very high score for service and food. Thanks again

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FPeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesh Bala, Other at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia Ora Peter,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are truly blessed to have such a motivated team that enjoy the industry. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again.





Ngā Mihi,
Shailaja Bhandari
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

This is a standard Novotel that you could find in many parts of the world.
The the room was spacious and clean and amenities were good.

The location is also good, with limited free parking on site as well as just outside the perimeter on a public road where we parked.

Food in their restaurant was slightly underwhelming.

We are Accor ALL members and despite receiving a discount on meals and drinks in their restaurant, we chose to have two dinners and a breakfast at the Orangerie Restaurant directly across the road. The dinners at Orangerie were far better in quality and slightly cheaper too (disregarding lack of a discount).

Given that we were a family of three and the rate that we paid for the room, this was a satisfactory experience and a good choice for accommodation.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ValueLuxurySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesh Bala, Other at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia Ora,


Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki.

From your above feedback we can understand that we did not meet your expectations and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.
We have carefully noted your feedback We take this opportunity to gain experience and improve ourselves.
I can assure you that this is not our regular level of service, and we value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in a manner befitting the reputation of the brand.

Ngā Mihi,
Shailaja Bhandari
Food and Beverage Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2024

We had to re-route here very last minute due to the eastern coast being closed due to the cyclone, and were very pleased to have found such a lovely hotel. The room (suite) was spacious with separate sitting / kitchenette area (the bedroom was more compact, perhaps due to the huge bed!)
Staff were lovely, so helpful (esp when we borrowed bikes to cycle the boardwalk), breakfast buffet was a good start to the day, and location was great

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesh Bala, Other at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor, with regards to your recent stay here at Novotel. We are pleased to note that you had a wonderfully comfortable stay with us.
We have shared your words of encouragement with the team which constantly strives them for excellence to ensure that our guests leave with fond memories.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again with us.

Ngā Mihi,
Sincerely,
Shailaja Bhandari
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024 via mobile

Mark greeted us; and what a lovely young man - and fabulous ambassador he was. Nothing was too much trouble.

Our room, the cleanliness and the linen was great too.

We’d go back.

We had dinner in the restaurant and my aged Sirloin steak was the best I’ve had anywhere. It was like cutting butter.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesh Bala, Other at Novotel New Plymouth Taranaki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia Ora,
Thank you for your review here on Trip advisor with regards to your recent stay here at Novotel. We are pleased to note that you had a wonderfully comfortable stay with us.
We have shared your words of encouragement with the team which constantly strives them for excellence to ensure that our guests leave with fond memories.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again with us.
Ngā Mihi,
Sincerely,
Shailaja Bhandari
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews