We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Nearby Hotels
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dawson Motel(New Plymouth)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Abode on Courtenay(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Northgate Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Nice Hotel & Table(New Plymouth)
US$157
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)
US$107
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
163
87
24
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
87
24
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccor membergovernors restaurantaccor hotelspiano barbuffet breakfastgreat hotelsuperior roomlight switchesnew additionrecommend this hotelearly checkgreat roomfloor to ceiling windowsrestaurant staffroom servicegood sizefriendly helpful staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This is our 2nd time staying. The first time was 2weeks after they had opened and had a standard room. Room was excellent but has no outlook at the back of hotel. This time we booked one of the superior rooms which face the street. Room was excellent. They have complimentary bikes available which we took advantage of to ride the coastal walkway. Well worth doing if you're staying. Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CraigBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelHobson, Front Office Manager at Novotel New Plymouth Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Craig,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel and I'm pleased to hear our staff made such a positive impact for you.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We are glad you managed to take advantage of the complimentary bikes - they are such a good way to get around and see what our beautiful region has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Allie Blackwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

First stay here
Most things were fine just 2 areas where we had reservations
1. No guest laundry (in our 20 years experience this is unusual for accor hotels in NZ
2. Ther was a second TV in the bedroom which was frankly a health hazard -very difficult to walk past it at the end of the bed without damaging various parts of the body!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelHobson, Front Office Manager at Novotel New Plymouth Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Peter,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel and the time you have taken to provide us with constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future however if you select the Executive Room on your next stay, you will have more room to move around.

Kind regards,
Allie Blackwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This was the first time we've stayed here. The service at reception was friendly enough. The hotel is fairly new, I thought it smelt a bit like a hospital. We were off to a good start until we went to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, we were told that there was an hours wait, we said we were happy to wait, but we were met with her saying, "I don't think you understand - we have an hours wait before we can seat you". We responded with "We do understand & we want to wait". She didn't seam happy for us to wait & yet it only took half an hour. When the food came out it looked like old fish on mushy stir fry, the pork looked a bit the same. The next morning we had breakfast, I ordered an omelette- it came out looking like a dry, crusty, burnt pizza - lots of filling, hardly any egg. Restaurant offers a poor standard of food & kitchen staff did not seam to take kindly to feedback (stood around staring). There was a good amount of car parking. In the end we had a good enough stay but spoilt every time we went near the restaurant- service & food needs a lift - don't think it was 4 star standard.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ursh503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelHobson, Front Office Manager at Novotel New Plymouth Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Ursula,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We certainly value your feedback and rest assured we will work with our team to ensure that we rectify the issues you encountered during your stay.

If you would like to discuss any of these issues in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on gm@hobsonhotel.co.nz.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. The restaurant is truly wonderful and the chefs do a great job so we hope your next experience is better than the last.

Kind regards,
Allie Blackwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night on way back to Auckland. Very spacious room quiet even though it was on a busy road. 20 minutes walk to the CBD. Comfortable bed which is always a plus. Caught up with friends for dinner in the restaurant. Really enjoyed the pork belly we didn't order sides and weren't encouraged too left the meal a bit on the light side. Breakfast was very good especially the poached eggs which you can order separately to go with the other buffet items. Very good value in New Plymouth especially with the Accor Plus card.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelHobson, Front Office Manager at Novotel New Plymouth Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Jeremy,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel and I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our wonderful restaurant.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Allie Blackwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We were in room 207 on 28th and 29th December. Everything very new, and room was comfortable apart from some real annoyances.
No nightlight, so had to leave bathroom light on all night (what a waste of power!)
Light switches tiny and at hip height meant you needed to be a dwarf with great eyesight to read the tiny writing before you could find the switch you are looking for.
Bedside tables far too small, work station far too industrial. Carpets not to our taste.
But all that does not matter, because staff are wonderful- manager James is fantastic, as are Kayla and Juan (?) in the restaurant. Stay here just for the amazing service. Close to downtown.
Shame about the planks of wood obscuring the room windows- I guess the neighbours complained about being overlooked.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the seaward side on level 2.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amerynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelHobson, Front Office Manager at Novotel New Plymouth Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear amerynet,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review.

We certainly value the feedback and we have taken on board your comments regarding the lighting panel and nightlight. We are so pleased you got to know our wonderful staff - they really are fantastic and love going the extra mile. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Allie Blackwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews