We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions, friendly staff”

Crowded House Bar & Cafe
Ranked #55 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Barbecue, New Zealand, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Big portions, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Great value for money. Had the fish sliders and they were delicious! The complimentary donut deal also went down a treat!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    30
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent even though they were busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2017

Excellent service even though they were busy with Americarna crowds. Excellent food and great atmoshpere.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimz120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Visited this place , awesome food . Spacious and nice ambience . Famous for its ribs . Good place to visit . Staff could be more attentive

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank MAILRIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Sydney (our waitress)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017

The food was amazing. Atomsphere was good as well. But from what we really liked was the friendliness of our waitress, it was liked we had known her for years. Lovely 'cheeky' personality fast and reliable.And thats what we think makes a 'dinner out nite' reall fantastic is the waitress, if you have a grumpy expressionless waitress/waiter then it brings your nite 'down'. But Sydney, um, no way, she laughed joked and always had a smile on her face. And this is what more places need are waitresses like her. I do hope that she goes far in that industry, and maybe if we're back there again in the next year, that she is our waitress. Thankyou Sydney. :) Lesley (coppertopp39@yahoo.com)

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Sundae Issue....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

Came in for dinner, me and my husband both had the sliders (Lamb & Fish), which were great. The only negative was my husband’s dessert – he ordered an Ice Cream sundae, and there was more topping and cream than there was ice cream – once the rest of the sundae was finished, there was still enough topping left that he may as well have had a straw to finish it off!
And there only appeared to be 2x scoops of ice cream

Didn’t think this was really worth the $9.90 we paid for this, when compared to my Chocolate Brownie dessert, which was delicious, and well worth the price!
We can get premium ice cream with larger volumes for about the same price from a supermarket…

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love_Lillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Thank you for your review we really like hearing your feedback :) and thanks for visiting Crowded House.
I am sorry to hear that you felt there wasn't enough ice-cream in your Sundae, I will let the chef know your thoughts.
Regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crowded House Bar & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Crowded House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing