We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday Celebration”

Cobb & Co. New Plymouth
Ranked #76 of 188 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$14 - US$24
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This week our group of nine dined at Cobb & Co, New Plymouth. We were made very welcome by the staff who were highly efficient and friendly. Our meals were delicious and everyone was very happy with them. If our experience is anything to go by I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. Thank you Pratibha and your team.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LibbyMelabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We booked here recently for my mothers birthday party. We had approximately 50 people and had a side room set up, the room was a good size. The service was very poor, there was only one person on the bar serving everyone, so it took over 30 minutes to be served, he keep blaming a new computer system. As they knew about this booking several months in advance, why did they not have extra staff on to cope esp. if they also had a new computer system to deal with as well?
The ordering of meals was again slow and uncoordinated with some people getting their main meal when other people were getting there desserts. Staff had to be asked to clear plates from the children who had obviously finished and where stacked up out of their way. The food was standard what you would expect from Cobb and co, the vegetables that came with the roast of the day were over cooked, I don't know why people need to boil broccoli to death.

Thank Sue2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Sue2560. Thanks for reaching out. It's great to hear you chose to have your mother's birthday at Cobb. We're really dissapointed to hear we let you down. Malfunctioning computer systems are no excuse for not receiving your drinks. We're really proud of our team here and the amazing job they do. We're all dissapointed in this case that we've let your party down. We'd love a second opportunity to give you the amazing service and dining you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great night with my daughter and 2 grandchildren. Food was really good, serving sizes were large. Kids meals were simple, but the kids enjoyed them. Kids entertainment area was a little bit crowded but again the kids enjoyed it. Thanks for the great service

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thanks for the review, Karen S. It's great to have 3 generations of your family dining with us. We hope you all found something just right for each of you. You're more than welcome. The team here look forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Being a `senior` we choose the menu for us. Shrimp cocktail was delirious with crisp lettuce and tasty. Main was fresh fish with some veges and chips ,dessert was apple also tasty and hot. We have just started going to this restaurant again after a year or so as we found previously meals were not up to standard......they now are! The staff were very friendly and helpful.We will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thanks for the feedback, John D. Its great to hear you like our special set menus. It's also great to see you noticed the restaurant is under new management. The whole team are incredible and we're very proud of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Decided to try Cobb & Co again after many a year and what a nostalgic trip down memory lane. We went on for Sunday lunch and there was only one other table there so pretty much had the place to ourselves. The waiter was super friendly and accommodating when we needed extra time to look over the menu. Food was delicious (my nachos were a little on the small side considering the price paid) so I was glad I had ordered a side dish as well. Overall we really enjoyed our meal, it had really good music playing to enjoy our lunch to and the activities on the back of the menus brought the kids out in us!!! Would definitely return!!!

Thank N7567YBmelissap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thanks for the amazing review, N7567YBmelissap.
We're really glad you found everything you needed through our red batwing doors.
The whole team here looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. New Plymouth also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co. New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing