We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish of the Day”

Cobb & Co. New Plymouth
Ranked #74 of 181 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$14 - US$25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Fish of the day was yummy. Lots of veges and plenty of fish with bonus prawns.
Waiter attentive but not intrusive

Thank Gwyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback, Gwyn F!
We're glad you had a great visit and enjoyed our 'fish of the day' recipe!
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017

Wonderful place to dine with family and friends. Service is wonderful from lovely happy and friendly staff. Food delicious, and reasonably priced.

Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thanks, Doreen C! We're so happy to hear you had such an amazing visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Was awesome for the kids. Food for kids came super quick and service was excellent. Our waiter Lin was very nice and so effienant. Would go back in a flash.

Thank Gt13turbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thanks, Gt13turbo! We'll let Lin know what an amazing job she did!
Looking forward to welcoming you back in a flash!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We visited last week for the first time last week after being recommended as a family friendly this was a lovely and welcomed gesture.

After our orders where placed, within a very short amount of time our children's meals arrived with the entrées. Genius! Their drinks arrived all sparkly and with fancy straws etc. Our kids actually sat completely happily through our meal, very entertained which meant we could focus on relaxing and enjoying our own food! When the kids had had enough of sitting, they have a kids corner (positioned within metres of our table also so we could stay seated and watch them at the same time), with numerous toys, books and a playstation.

As for the food. We were all very impressed. All four adults had different selections for the mains. I ordered a med/rare steak with mushroom sauce and it's not very often I can say it was 100% cooked to perfection. Absolutely mouth watering and no grizzle or fat what so ever. My husband chose the ribs and finished every last bite. In fact I don't think anyone left anything.

The prices are the cheapest but by no means expensive for what you get. Pretty mid range I'd say. The service was great. The restaurant was clean, tidy and very well laid out with ample parking.

Very happy with all areas of our experience and will definitely be returning.

Thank Lizzieh081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thanks for the incredible feedback, Lizzieh081!
We're so glad to read how great your expereince was! I've already shared it with all the staff.
It's great to hear we'll see you again - We can't wait to welcome your family back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We chanced upon Cobb & Co while walking into the city centre one afternoon. My partner remembers growing up eating at this restaurant but he hasn't seen one in years (we're based in Auckland). I grew up in another country so it was a foreign name to me. Much to my surprise (and delight), it felt very homey and comfortable. Although it was very busy, we were still spoken to as soon as we arrived. The servers made sure we were informed about the wait, and checked if there were available seats.

We were happy to wait. Very cheery and happy people all around us. We ordered starters which arrived promptly and made beautifully. Our mains arrived -- gravy-licious lamb shank and chicken bacon burgers all perfectly cooked and had huge portions. I had trouble finishing!

What I loved most about this place was the friendly service of staff members, and the atmosphere seemed so pleasant and family-friendly. Nothing like what seems to be the norm in Auckland nowadays. Happy to come back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Co_NPL, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thanks for the phenomenal review, Patty L!
We so happy to hear you had such an amazing visit. We'll be sharing your kind words with our staff - they'll be so happy to know they gave you such a great evening.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. New Plymouth also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co. New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing