We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
142
56
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
56
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joe's garage guest lounge boutique hotel restaurant downstairs complimentary bottled water no lift the hotel manager great decor small hotel eclectic art great hotel reading room small room shared lounge glass door overnight stay central location
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018

Comfortable, clean and beautiful hotel in the heart of New Plymouth - within walking distance to great cafes, bars and the ever-impressive Pukekura Park. The front desk staff was great, and made us feel welcome and at home. Needless to say, we will be back when we're next in town. Thanks so much! P.S. Shower Pressure was top notch; a big deal for some.

Room tip: The King-size room (#1) may be quieter than others.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E3724CRmatthewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thestate, Manager at The State Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thanks Matt H for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and do come again.
Kind regards Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Travelling for work - easy parking, loads of restaurants all a short walk away, comfortable bed, nice stylish rooms, good hosts - just enough interaction and overall very good stay, I will be back here!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thestate, Manager at The State Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Vincealot
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're glad you enjoyed your first experience with us. Hope to see you again.
Kind regards Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

Just beautiful. Stylish, uber clean and fresh, wonderful attention to detail, friendly and secure. It’s not what you expect in a small town like New Plymouth. An absolute pleasure to stay in. I’ve been here all week and am not yearning for home one bit!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dalkeithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thestate, Manager at The State Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Dalkeithman
Thanks for that. Hope the allergies are under control. Hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

great location with restaurants/shops nearby. very comfortable. super nice decoration in the common areas - cozy guest lounge. my room was not huge, but enough space for what was needed.
the coffee voucher took me to the best brownie I’ve ever had!
just stay here! :)

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank taianeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Wonderful decor and friendly staff when they're around (easy enough to call them if you need). My biggest complaint is that the bathroom was tiny... the same width as the shower. The towels were put away in the closest outside the bathroom which made them hard to find and meant you had to remember to grab one before hopping in the shower. Maybe better to just fold them and put them on the foot of the bed? There's not really room for them in the bathroom with out risk of them falling into the toilet. The sink is one of those half sinks so it's hard to brush teeth without hitting your head on the wall. I loved the location and everything else but unless I can have a full size sink I won't be staying here again. The little details sometimes do matter.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank alleycats87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews