We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The State Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

16 Northgate Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auto Lodge Motor Inn(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
133
54
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
54
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoe's garageguest loungeboutique hotelrestaurant downstairscomplimentary bottled waterno lifteasy access to shopsstunning decorfacing the streetcool vibeeclectic collection of artquieter roomhotel entrythe hotel managersmall hotelreading roomgreat hotel
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here on New Year's Eve - once we parked the car we did not have to drive again until we checked out. We walked some of the Coastal Walkway in the afternoon, it was great to stretch our legs after being in the car for a most of the day. Had dinner and spent a most enjoyable night at The Black Harp pub next door. I was expecting it to be noisy in the room after reading previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised about how quiet it was. Had a coffee at Joe's Garage on the 1st - the food looked great but we weren't hungry so didn't get to sample the menu.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1tsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The hotel is located above the Joe's Garage eatery and very centrally located on Devon St. Easy access to shops, restaurants and cafés. It has been very tastefully decorated with interesting ornaments and paintings. It has a nice Guest Lounge. The rooms are not big but well appointed, with good use of the available space. The sandblasted-glass door to the bathroom is probably not a good idea after all (leaves little privacy to the person inside!). The access to the carpark is tricky. One has to walk around the block and through a dark alley with the luggage. Not ideal. However, it is hard to imagine another solution, given the configuration of the building. A back-door access could help perhaps (if negotiated with the neighbour business), as well as offering extra parking places. We had to park on the street twice, because all designated 6 spots had been taken.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We enjoyed our two night stay in the State Hotel and would definitely recommend it as a place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located in central New Plymouth and everything is within easy walking distance.While the rooms are small, they are clean and comfortable, well appointed and modern. The hotel itself is old and full of character. Comments- if you are a larger person you might find the bathroom a bit cramped and I didn't see a lift, so this hotel might not suit someone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BMCT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful Room, and so handy to everything in New Plymouth. 5 min walk to Supermarkets & Shopping centre.. highly recommend for young couples as a bar/pub is right downstairs, but you can barley hear anything upstairs.. Awesome place to stay!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chantel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thestate, Manager at The State Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Chantel
Thanks for taking the time to comment on the Hotel. I agree that everything is located in a great spot with a selections of bars and restaurants within walking distance.
Hope to welcome you back some day soon.
Warm regards Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a very quiet and restful night @ the State.Room was tastefully redecorated , with practical ensuite.great value for the money.Good meal below @ Joes Garage.Would stay here again and recommend highly, conveniently situated

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank coroNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews