We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Eclectic Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The State Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Right from the entrance, The State Hotel oozes electric charm and you want to explore further. Rarely have I delighted in the interior of an accommodation but The State Hotel has character in its mix of furnishings, ornaments and wall paintings. Our room was clean and looked as though everything has been recently renovated to a very high standard.The bathroom is small and compact - I loved the way that used the glass-door as it let more light into the room (one more hook would have been useful for towels). The Hotel is well situated being centrally located and was only a 1.1km walk to Pukekura Park which was the purpose of our visit. The only criticism I would have is to do with the location of the carpark and the limited carpark spaces. I think some people might struggle to carry their luggage that distance as well as trying to get up the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
62
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on New Year's Eve - once we parked the car we did not have to drive again until we checked out. We walked some of the Coastal Walkway in the afternoon, it was great to stretch our legs after being in the car for a most of the day. Had dinner and spent a most enjoyable night at The Black Harp pub next door. I was expecting it to be noisy in the room after reading previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised about how quiet it was. Had a coffee at Joe's Garage on the 1st - the food looked great but we weren't hungry so didn't get to sample the menu.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1tsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located above the Joe's Garage eatery and very centrally located on Devon St. Easy access to shops, restaurants and cafés. It has been very tastefully decorated with interesting ornaments and paintings. It has a nice Guest Lounge. The rooms are not big but well appointed, with good use of the available space. The sandblasted-glass door to the bathroom is probably not a good idea after all (leaves little privacy to the person inside!). The access to the carpark is tricky. One has to walk around the block and through a dark alley with the luggage. Not ideal. However, it is hard to imagine another solution, given the configuration of the building. A back-door access could help perhaps (if negotiated with the neighbour business), as well as offering extra parking places. We had to park on the street twice, because all designated 6 spots had been taken.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our two night stay in the State Hotel and would definitely recommend it as a place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located in central New Plymouth and everything is within easy walking distance.While the rooms are small, they are clean and comfortable, well appointed and modern. The hotel itself is old and full of character. Comments- if you are a larger person you might find the bathroom a bit cramped and I didn't see a lift, so this hotel might not suit someone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Room, and so handy to everything in New Plymouth. 5 min walk to Supermarkets & Shopping centre.. highly recommend for young couples as a bar/pub is right downstairs, but you can barley hear anything upstairs.. Awesome place to stay!!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chantel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.8 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State Hotel

Property: The State Hotel
Address: 162 Devon Street East | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price range (per night): $130 - $151
Hotel Class:4 star — The State Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State Hotel is an iconic building that has been stylishly modernised into a 15-studio room boutique hotel. Every room is individually designed and complemented with beautiful furniture and New Zealand art. A lounge room has been created for exclusive use by hotel guests. It boasts views along Devon Street and glimpses of the Tasman Sea, has comfortable chairs and Sky 50+. Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your The State Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing