We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
256
50
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
50
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river native bush short drive from town rural setting bird life the penthouse deep bath quail mt taranaki city centre spa bath small gym a fantastic place to stay free laundry new zealand long weekend self catering
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Such an amazing location. Only a few minutes from the heart of New Plymouth yet it feels like you are many miles away from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind. Beds are nice and comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms with all of the bells and whistles including a kitchen sink thrown in for good measure. The free wifi is some of the best we have come across in our global travels. Management very helpful. We will certainly return!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Overnight stay for our wedding anniversary. The setting is awesome over looking the river. The motel was warm we had a fireplace, and very clean. It was very private. The spa bath was great. Will definitely go back. And we live close by.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rwilms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

This self-catering hotel provides a well-equipped food prep area, beautifully functional bathroom with tub for a good soak and shower. The Bedroom is large and the kingsize bed looks out through large glass doors out onto well-tended fields. The deck is a great place for morning tea or coffee, viewing a well-maintained lawn with a quail family checking out the visitors. Mt Taranaki is readily visible from the drive entry just off the highway. Great photos when the mountain is clear as it was on two days while we visited.

Room tip: All the rooms seem to face a beautiful country view.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for nine nights. It's a fantastic setting out a little from the city. Nice and private, spacious grounds, friendly unobtrusive staff. The various units allow for a range of party sizes and are well appointed. Some units have spa baths and wood burners. We were there in Winter so both were much appreciated. Being out of town makes it well situated for heading out of town or into it. You will want your own transport.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at One Burgess Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words.It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Regards Anne and Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Have just stayed at Burgess Hill for the second time - simply fantastic.Would be one of the nicest settings for s Motel I have ever come across.We had unit 9 - two bedroom unit. Every amenity you could want - fantastic outlook, quiet, wood fire - just perfect. The unit is not cheap but is great value for money given how beautiful the setting is. Staff are fantastic - if you are looking for something special - suggest you book at One Burgess Hill

Room tip: For a group of three or four ask for unit 9 - unit 9 - looks out over the stream and the native bush
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T8151GXgregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews