We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
250
48
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
48
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the rivernative bushshort drive from towndeep bathrural outlookbird lifethe penthousemt taranakispa bathsmall gyma fantastic place to stayfree laundrynew zealandlong weekendone night stayroad noisestayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Stayed in Unit 7 and wanted for nothing.

One Burgess Hill is a wonderfully secluded place where you can listen to the roar of the river at night and by day watch kereru fly by. Great views looking down to the river and certainly worth the walk to the river's edge, likewise Burgess Scenic Reserve is worth exploring.

Good location being about 8-10 minutes drive to the New Plymouth supermarkets and perhaps a 20 drive to the airport.

All in all a great place to base yourself for a long weekend.

My only suggestions for improvement would perhaps be a heater in the bathroom and an extra bedside table. Would I stay here again? In a blink!

Room Tip: Worth asking if you can have an upstairs room - they give just a touch more privacy, but in the scheme of things it's not a big deal.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matarawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with out nearly 2 year son and we're nervous he wouldn't enjoy himself / be to unsafe. He loved it and even better it had a fireplace! Being 5 minute drive from town it's quiet but not to far to be a hassle!

Beautiful walk down to the river and a stellar view from the main bedroom.

Only downfall we found is that we lost pressure on the morning of our last night but other then that everything was wicked!

Highly recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank christiec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed her 2 nights although 5 minutes from the centre of New Plymouth it would have to be the most peaceful place to stay in the country. The friendliest owners I have ever met. Great scenery and short walks. Would be a perfect place for family reunion or small conference. Moteliers could learn a thing or two from the owners of this fine establishment. Reasonable price, very quiet and clean.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank solarisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Can't speak highly enough about this place, great views, we stayed in a two bedroom unit which was lovely, quiet and peaceful. Lovely rural outlook and very tranquil. The wood burner fire was an absolute bonus.Will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dandyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Wow, wow, wow is the best way to describe One Burgess Hill. After a busy day working, there is nowhere better to go back to unwind. Even though it was almost winter, we sat outside in the sunshine for a late lunch, listening to the birdsong and the river. The unit is well appointed, there was even an actual log fireplace for warmth. A comfy bed, a couch to sit on, and the perfect quiet location to mix business with pleasure. Just a few kms out of town, helpful owners, so why go anywhere else. They offer a corporate rate Sunday to Thursday. It's brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudiRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews