We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
12
32
16
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
32
16
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townbit noiseytwo single bedssmall kitchenetteseparate toiletmotelunitplymouth
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Older motel with dated decor and facilities and sometimes off-hand customer service. The good side - not expensive; well located; not too much road noise. The bad side - upstairs units conduct a lot of noise to their downstairs counterparts; the plumbing is very noisy; not 100% clean (sticky kitchen floor and cooking scraps under the hot plate).
The receptionist was quite offhand when we arrived, but when we left we left something behind she moved heaven & earth to get in touch with us before we'd got too far, so her heart was definitely in the right place.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs unit
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargL149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

If your looking for a reasonable priced place to stay for a night then this is it. Nice and close to town and a short walk to the park and zoo, which is free. Would happily stay here again next time we come up.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank hayleym122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Drove up to the car park of our unit and thought what a nice place for families to stay. Has a large size lawn for kids to play and to have a bbq.
Upstairs was a bit noisey from 10.30pm having showers and kids running along the deck.
Big room with a extra bed. Pillows were a little flat and there were no extra's.
For the money we paid we were happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that does not have upstairs
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We chose this motel thinking it would be quiet but there are permanent residents here in rooms above whose showers and footsteps make dreadful noises at 4.30am and the owners don't worry about dragging rubbish bins past rooms at 7am.
The tenants walking upstairs made the whole building, floor and walls above us shake.

The linen is fresh and white, the duvets, covers, pillows and towels are not. The duvets and pillows are stained and the brown covers are also stained. The pillows are flat and according to the owner not bothered to replace because people steal them. Novel way to stop pillow theft, provide op shop quality flat thin pillows. It only costs $5.00 for a twin pack at the warehouse.
I asked for extra pillows for our guests joining us to sleep on as 2.5cm thick pillows amount to no pillows. After being told about pillow theft I was reluctantly given three extra old pillows with no linen and had to strip the flat pillow cases off in the unit to put on the replacements that were marginally better than the flat ones.
The rooms smelled like cigarette smoke and I was given carpet deodoriser and curtain spray to apply myself. The office smelled like cigarette smoke but there were lots of incense being burned as a cover up.

Our heating did not work, we got an old fan heater given as a replacement then had to get an even older oil fin heater to replace the noisy replacement.

Our disappointment in the quality overall of this motel was further increased when the time came to shower. Black and pink mould on ceilings,walls,and ledges and cracked porcelain on the toilet.
The curtains were mouldy as were the windows themselves.

300mb of free internet.. not enough to do anything before you get cut off.

I really think we stumbled into faulty towers. Run fast, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Query and check the room but best advice, do not choose to stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineR3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We had a good stay at the hotel, the room was clean and the service was good. We were upgraded to a larger room which had a seperate room with two single beds and whilst this would seem to be great, even though we did not need the extra room, the room happen to be almost right in the major road leading into New Plymouth. Traffic noise starts pretty early in the morning. Also next door noise was quite loud especially when they were having a shower or using the water in any way, sounded like Niagara Falls, sic. The bbq and lawn area was really nice, laundry area was clean. Would go again but would not have the same room.

Room Tip: Not one facing road.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews