We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location, Amazing Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King and Queen Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King and Queen Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Location, Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

I highly recommend this lovely hotel to stay in during your trip to New Plymouth. The staff are so helpful and eager to provide amazing service, Daniel in particular :)
It is spotlessly clean, with original and opulent decor, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. We had a king size room with a balcony & view of the sea.
New Plymouth has no shortage of restaurants with superb menus and this hotel is so close to many of them, just a short stroll from the hotel itself.
The staff will recommend places to dine and you should trust that advice. We did and were never disappointed.
We will be back as soon as we can!
Thank you Daniel and all the staff that made our stay such a wonderful start to our holidays!

Room Tip: We had a beautifully appointed room with a view to the sea & balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
170
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

So impressed with this hotel, from the moment we arrived the staff we so friendly and welcoming, opening the door to our suite was like opening the door to paradise there was everything needed and more, so pleased that a hotel like this exists in New Plymouth, we will return.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Guybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Opposite the Len Lye Gallery and easy walking distance from the coastal walk, King and Queen Hotel Suites are located superbly. Lots of excellent foodie places. The hotel is very modern yet quirky, Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. We found the ability to bill meals back to our room from local restaurants a nice touch. The only issue we had was the compact size of the Left Bank Suites. Even so the room was well equipped the bed comfortable. We'd come here again

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had an absolutely delightful stay here for 3 nights over New Year. Room 301 has sea views. I can't think of anything to be added to the room - kitchenette area with everything you could need (perhaps a small saucepan for boiling milk might be useful - but that's a very minor point). The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and the bathroom was lovely. The staff were very friendly and the location was perfect for all galeries, sea walks, town centre and parks. Complementary use of bicycles was a real plus for the lovely coastal path. A touch noisy on one of the nights but it was the holiday weekend and it is city centre so only to be expected. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had 301 which had sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

For the price I found this hotel very average.The rooms were small and had no view except to what I would call a food hall.It seems the hotel had no dining facilities of its own.After driving for 3 hours we felt like having a drink the first of the so called restaurants we ask for drinks we were informed they only served pizzas,not a good start.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 30 December 2016
Dear Keith

I'm disappointed to hear that you would not stay again. We have a wide range of room types and the majority are double the size to the studio you booked and have great views of the sea or Len Lye art gallery. If you do decide to return I would definitely recommend a Business, Premium or feature suite such as the Queen Victoria with separate lounge area, balcony, gas fireplace and full kitchen. We do not advertise views for the studio rooms. They look down to a really cool European style courtyard with high end restaurants and bars, plus amazing artisan bakery.

We have 9 restaurants, bars and cafés surrounding the hotel which are connected but run independently. I have passed the feedback onto the owners of Ms White (wood fired pizza outlet). They serve over 50 boutique beers and other beverages so we're a bit confused as to why they wouldn't serve you drinks as this is their core business. Perhaps some miss-communication which I'm sure they are apologetic for. Next time try Monica's Eatery or Social Kitchen if you prefer the more standard sit down restaurant style (although they do so in world class way).

Thanks for your feedback and I do hope we can have you stay in the future as with the right room and restaurant choice I'm sure we can give you an incredible King & Queen experience which we are known for.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.8 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.3 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King and Queen Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King and Queen Hotel Suites

Property: King and Queen Hotel Suites
Address: Corner of King and Queen Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price range (per night): $177 - $407
Hotel Class:4.5 star — King and Queen Hotel Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Plymouth's newest luxury boutique hotel. Located in the CBD and cultural and arts hub of New Plymouth, close to the best restaurants and bars. Exquisite European and Moroccan furnishings, sea views, private balconies, unique local artwork, secure car parking, complimentary internet and kitchenettes help to create your ultimate getaway whether that be for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your King and Queen Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing