We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$170
Priceline
$161
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$157
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rich30350
Sandy Springs, Georgia

Rebranded as Distinction

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2023via mobile
This hotel has recently been rebranded in the Distinction name. Great CBD location. The rooms are nice (nothing over the top) and comfortable. The shower has great water pressure. The staff is friendly and helpful. The price is outstanding. If you need somewhere with not a lot of frills in NP…this is a great selection.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$247
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $247
  • Agoda.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $247
0.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $139
1.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
Booking.com
$173
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $173
0.3 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $192
  • Agoda.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $209
0.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Guest room
Booking.com
$218
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Expedia.com
    $217
  • Hotels.com
    $218
1.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
Booking.com
$208
  • Priceline
    $208
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
    $202
0.1 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
    $149
1.5 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $140
  • eDreams
    $140
1.4 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfy King
Booking.com
$265
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $265
  • Hotels.com
    $260
  • Expedia.com
    $264
5.1 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$95
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $95
1.3 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
72
115
58
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
115
58
22
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2022

Stayed here for 2 nights on a driving tour of NZ north island. . Service from the staff was exceptional, especially Karu and Selwyn who really went out of their way. Room was comfy and shower GREAT, very tasty cooked breakfast and lots of choice of things to eat. Main venue restaurant was closed but recommendations made by Selwyn were on the money for both ones we tried. Comfy beds.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank V9737AVstephenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2020

A great hotel for business in the CBD! A great location, the rooms and the bathrooms are big and very clean!! Room service was yummy and it was a quick walk / run to the beachfront for amazing walks, runs and a spectacular view of THE Mountain!!

Date of stay: June 2020
1  Thank Robina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

Mr. Juber & Sufiayan was so amazing, there were so accommodating they make sure that the expectation of the customer was meet.
Thank you so much will surely recommend.
Will definitely come back.......

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank reinchelorrainet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2020

Not the normal professional hotel experience you would expect. A member of our group received a disappointing breakfast. It took 2 staff and the General Manager of the hotel....and none of them would do anything about it and argued back once feedback was provided. Not the way to win customers over.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LeeMallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Dear LeeMallia, thank you for your feedback. Please note that you did not see the General Manager of the hotel, but it was the Manager on duty that you spoke to. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. Upon investigation in to this matter, your colleague ordered Avocado spread on toast and ate the eggs and mushrooms on the meal, leaving the spread on toast with fresh tomatoes. When a staff member served the coffees, they were told that she expected avocado slices instead of spread. Our menu says 'spread' and we delivered the meal as mentioned. However, to make things happy, the restaurant staff offered complimentary usage of the continental buffet and coffee also. We did what we could to our best of ability. I am happy to discuss this with you, so please feel free to email. Unfortunately, my manager on duty and staff offered alternatives at the time to ensure a happy breakfast experience, but you all did not want to accept anything, instead you all kept threatening to give us a one star on trip advisor. I am glad that the staff did what they could. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Plymouth. We look forward to hosting your stay in the future and will always welcome you all. Warm Regards, Faiz Rashid, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

Had a beautiful new unit, which was very well appointed.
Beautiful kitchen
Beach access was nearly outside the door
Good parking
Had a pool in my block but did not use
Fairly quite at night
Nice warm rooms

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews