We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fiona S
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Very Nice

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2020
Had a beautiful new unit, which was very well appointed.
Beautiful kitchen
Beach access was nearly outside the door
Good parking
Had a pool in my block but did not use
Fairly quite at night
Nice warm rooms
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $254
  • Agoda.com
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $319
0.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
$170
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $170
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $171
0.6 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $74
  • Expedia.com
    $94
0.7 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $139
1.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $181
0.3 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Priceline
    $199
0.1 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$218
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $208
  • Expedia.com
    $219
1.2 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Priceline
    $149
1.5 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • Hotels.com
    $102
  • Trip.com
    $104
1.5 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$75
  • Priceline
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.3 km from Grand Central Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
72
115
58
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
115
58
21
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Although it is a bit of a rabbit warren on many different levels, once you had your bearings, it was easy to find your way around. Staff very helpful. My room was a corner suite and was very well appointed. Great lounge area. Bed was comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2019

Room was large and bed okay , Room had plenty off windows and very light , Booking in was very average , We had a bed and breakfast voucher , Went for breakfast and told we could have a continental breakfast and a egg on toast , Not what we expect for a cooked breakfast at all , Was there for 6 nights so we pulled the plug after the first night . Have stayed there before with the bed and breakfast vouchers and got a proper cooked breakfast , Wont go back there again and would not recommend

Room tip: upper floor corner rooms are quite large
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NewZealandBikies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2019

The hotel side of this business is very good. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable - and the beds are amazingly comfortable. However, the breakfast experience is bizarre! The menu starts with a statement about all the things you can and can't do in terms of what is included and not included - and it doesn't sound at all friendly!

The continental breakfast was $25 and it was nothing special - fruit, cereal and toast. The cooked breakfast items were extremely confusing - with very precise add-ons like 3 rashers of bacon = $8. Two pieces of toast = $6. I had avocado on toast topped with fresh tomato - it tasted as if the avocado had come out of a tube - very strange taste and texture.

When our group tried to explain to the manager that the menu was extremely confusing she told us that it was indeed very clear as she had just rewritten it because it was very confusing before. In fact she was very defensive and treated us as though we couldn't understand it because we were stupid.

In summary it is expensive, confusing and not very good. There are many other places in the city that serve a much better breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2019

I stayed recently for 3 nights while part of a group at the Taranaki Garden festival. Faiz and his team looked after us all very well, rooms were comfortable and clean and staff were very kind and helpful. A great central location and would certainly stay anytime I'm back in New Plymouth.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2019

Company policy, so had to stay here. Room standard for this type of establishment. Food and wine so ridiculous so expensive. Small glass of wine NZD$15.00 (a bottle can be brought for NZD$11.99). First night for dinner had the Honey Mustard Chicken with spring vegetables - the honey sauce overpowered the dish and the spring vegetables were not what I was expecting.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank 591jean390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews