We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wander30470120803

Did not find our room nice, at the Nice Hotel. Hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2024
Dark room, saggy mattress, multiple decorative cushions, random artwork and odd collectables filled the hotel bedroom. We had little room to put suitcases and clothes needed for our stay.
The standard of cleanliness was poor, as the duvet cover was dirty and discoloured at top. The multiple cushions were well used. It is a unique old character hotel, but without attention to detail and cleaning it is not a nice hotel.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $217
  • Priceline
    $254
  • Expedia.com
    $254
0.3 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Room service
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $181
0.6 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $60
  • Expedia.com
    $95
0.6 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $139
1.2 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $199
0.0 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Algotels
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.4 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Priceline
    $129
1.5 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$209
  • Priceline
    $209
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $209
1.2 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
$82
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • Hotels.com
    $104
  • Trip.com
    $104
1.5 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$75
  • Priceline
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $64
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.3 km from Nice Hotel & Table
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
163
27
11
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
27
11
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chickpea salad making you feel special eclectic art spa bath new zealand enjoyable stay rooms are comfortable we've stayed coastal walkway terry plymouth snuggle netflix port dust magazine nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Such a find. This has to be one of the most gorgeous places we’ve stayed in. It’s small it’s, extremely well run, it’s quirky but beautifully furnished. So comfortable that you want to stay longer.
Food was 5star can’t say enough about the “Nice Hotel”

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wistaria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

We booked this place as part of our tiki tour through the lower North Island. The room was not particularly clean, the bedding stained in parts and the coverings were musty. We felt somewhat uncomfortable staying here. We tried to book elsewhere after viewing the room. It was too late at night so we had no choice but to stay.

The room was somewhat tired looking and the bathroom not to our taste. The bathroom had a spa bath but unfortunately this doubled as a shower and consequently water spilled all over the floor whenever you had shower due to their being no curtain or shower doors.

As this is a boutique hotel each room has its own individual flavour. The overall look and feel is one of old english combined with new. However, as with all hotels and particularly ones that lean towards that English country setting you need to keep on top of the cleaning and maintenance otherwise it gets musty and dusty suer quick which is what happened here.

Overall it came across as a bit dark and dreary. I am sure in its day it would have been amazing. Time for a mini revamp.

We wouldn’t stay again.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nipitinthebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Nice Hotel, which is centrally located and provides easy access to the town centre. The hotel and staff were most welcoming and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with a nice patio overlooking the garden. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast was provided with a personal touch. Terry the owner was very kind and considerate, and was ably supported by Maggie. A very well run hotel, and a joy to stay here.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1805bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

Very disappointed with our room in the back part of hotel.
Room was so small & very narrow, felt rather claustrophobic .
Needs a re vamp as very tired & not the cleanest.
Also not hard to see there’s a broken rubbish bin lid & a light not in great condition.
Have stayed in main part of hotel before so a lot “nicer!” & a bit more room.
Lovely host though .

Room tip: Parking narrow & limited, first in first served. plenty of street parking.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023

Fantastic 6-day break in a lovely, quirky, homely, very stylish boutique hotel. Great rooms, the bed was soooo comfortable it was hard to get out of!! Terry, Maggie and the team are awesome, so friendly and helpful, nothing is a drama! Maggie mixes a mean Pina Colada, trust me! All up a great place, atmosphere is all there and there’s a top notch restaurant to boot, thank you for such a great time!!

Room tip: Lemon Possett from the dessert menu is a ‘must have’ item
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Relax01324854877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews