We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DHammer
Auckland, New Zealand

Perfect Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2020
Overall bloody perfect!

Positives - Everything. From the massive room, the pool, the location all the way to the amount of pillows! But most of all the lady at reception, very nice, positive and service with a big smile. I wish I got her name so I could give a shout out to her! Please respond!

As I have mentioned in most of my reviews, my father is a hard man to please but he loved this place and gives all praise! He said it was the best stay!

Negatives - All the bad comments from people who are expecting to stay at the Ritz.

Highly give this place a 5 out of 5. Im even going to book with the lads soon.

Thank you guys!
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Stay Here!
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$272
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $272
  • Agoda.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $272
0.7 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Night
$139
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Priceline
    $163
0.7 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
    $91
1.1 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$85
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $71
  • Expedia.com
    $85
1.5 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $223
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
    $175
0.2 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $61
  • Priceline
    $95
0.2 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $122
  • Priceline
    $142
0.5 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
IMG
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $213
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $213
0.3 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $149
1.1 km from Amber Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
63
49
20
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
49
20
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom unit across the road place to stay stayed here for nights kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2019

We didn't pre-book or look at reviews before finding Amber Court. The welcome was friendly and the room was inexpensive. The motel is in a very handy location - easy walking distance to supermarkets and restaurants, (and every fast food shop you could think of!). The room was very dated but clean, with a comfortable bed. We were given a quiet room in a block "down the back". This was quite separate from the main motel block, tucked in behind commercial buildings. I felt quite comfortable walking up to the main street from the unit at night with my husband, but would have driven if I was by myself.

Room tip: We were in a block separate from the main motel block. It was quiet but appeared to used by longer term residents, rather than travellers.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bertavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2019 via mobile

We had trouble finding a hotel, most were sold out. We got the last room at Amber Court and were told at checkin that the room was dated but clean.
The room was quite large with lounge and kitchenette. The bed was comfortable and the shower good, we certainly couldn’t complain about the room for the price we paid.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gordon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2019

The room was old fashion, dated and slightly musty. We stayed 2 nights. When you arrive the doors and windows are all open and because of the airflow the mustiness isn't that noticeable until you shut everything. Heating was a problem. We had a 2 bedroom unit, the beds were comfortable and it was very spacious and felt clean. Good location but pleased we weren't positioned up the front as there is a fair bit of road noise.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ANZJurgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

I had a little trouble finding this motel all because my satnav led me astray. However, once found, it was clean and comfortable and it was hard to fault. If I want to be picky, there was no plug for the basin - probably because they go missing or taken by petty thieves staying there. It's a good location and I would certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

The room we stayed in was very, very musty and the smell of mould was quite overpowering and extremely unpleasant. A dehumidifier was on when we arrived, the room was very cold, we turned on a small fan heater which was totally inadequate and failed to warm the room, we requested another heater which the Manager provided and she turned off the dehumidifier, she said they have a problem with dampness in the room and would have to get someone in to do a moisture reading! The room was spacious and clean but the bathroom and kitchen are very, very dated and overdue for renovation, the mould problem is a serious health issue, very unpleasant to the point that we believe that the unit we were in shouldn't be used until it is resolved. We had family visit us in the unit and they were quite shocked at the overwhelming musty smell.
They also have ant invasion problems. We felt that overall the unit was clean and well serviced and commend the staff for their work, the Motel is in a prime location, has traffic noise but easy walking distance to supermarkets/restaurants etc. However bottom line is this place needs an urgent major upgrade to resolve the mould problem and avoid potential health problems to visitors to the beautiful Taranaki region.

Room tip: Check if the room has been recently upgraded/renovated and if there is a mould problem.
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews