We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ruth J
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Bad news, avoid. Photo is misleading.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2019via mobile
Photo looks ok, but actual units are small, shabby, with many up a narrow staircase. We had booked well in advance, mentioning our dog, but were stuffed into a small room upstairs. Room was clean and beds ok, but all very pokey and shabby. A lamp and a light did not work. We would never return.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior Dusk
$163
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$197
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $197
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$126
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
    $99
2.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$85
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $275
0.4 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $91
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
IMG
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with my sister in upstairs room with double and two single beds. Small kitchenette with kettle, fridge and microwave. Shower over bath in very dated bathroom with sliding door. Ok for a cheap stay as near enough to walk into city and free parking but I would not stay again. It was just too grim for me.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gtpc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2019 via mobile

Did not reach my expectations. Room was a bit stuffy and needs dusting. Before guest are checked in room should be checked if everything is speck and span. Some basic things are not there in the kitchenette.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RizaC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Nothing particularly bad to report, but also nothing outstandingly good. If you are looking for a place to sleep, but nothing more, this fits the bill. The location is good, being fairly near the town centre.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

If you want cheaper accommadation for a stay in New Plymouth and you want a family room that's not quite up to par.
With ripped net curtains, fairly run down conditions and looking more shabby than chic then this the place for you!
Not recommended!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ktschmidt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We pay $146.09 one night a bedroom for four people, two adults and two children.
It's has been the worst place that we ever stay in New Zealand.
First, the lady in reception has not the skills to treat with customers, very bad looking and bad manners.Then the bedroom it was worst than reception, when we just got in we felt a very unpleasant smell immediately we open all the Windows to ventilate the room.
The room in general was in very bad conditions,very dirty carpet, sloppy walls, spider web on walls, dusty furniture and very disgusting shower we never could have a shower in that place.
After all, the worst waste of money in my whole life.
I forgot mention, they gifted us with a box of milk which expired the next day.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ValeriaD2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews