We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
trekdog
Lucerne, Switzerland

Adequate

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jan 2019
Nothing particularly bad to report, but also nothing outstandingly good. If you are looking for a place to sleep, but nothing more, this fits the bill. The location is good, being fairly near the town centre.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $227
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Guest room
$218
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $208
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$105
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $102
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • StayForLong
2.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $170
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    $90
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $181
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $181
0.5 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

If you want cheaper accommadation for a stay in New Plymouth and you want a family room that's not quite up to par.
With ripped net curtains, fairly run down conditions and looking more shabby than chic then this the place for you!
Not recommended!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ktschmidt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We pay $146.09 one night a bedroom for four people, two adults and two children.
It's has been the worst place that we ever stay in New Zealand.
First, the lady in reception has not the skills to treat with customers, very bad looking and bad manners.Then the bedroom it was worst than reception, when we just got in we felt a very unpleasant smell immediately we open all the Windows to ventilate the room.
The room in general was in very bad conditions,very dirty carpet, sloppy walls, spider web on walls, dusty furniture and very disgusting shower we never could have a shower in that place.
After all, the worst waste of money in my whole life.
I forgot mention, they gifted us with a box of milk which expired the next day.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ValeriaD2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

OMG I have never seen such a disgusting place it should be shut down due to health & safety, I arrived late afternoon and I was gone within 30 minutes the smell, decor ripped curtains, dirty, smelt like cat pee need I go on.
THERE ARE SO MANY BEAUTIFUL PLACES IN NEW PLYMOUTH.
Not even desperate enough to stay here EVER Avoid at all cost

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank sandrabH7556LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Good - Large clean room. Friendly owner/proprietor. Great location to walk into town.Good kitchen facilities.

Bad points - dated and tired furniture and bathroon - but hey, it's New Plymouth and a reasonably priced motel. More worrying was the daily interference from the WINZ client in the next room. Also wifi was rubbish.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed one night and that was to long -
the motel is old and VERY DIRTY - the toilet needs replacing - someone had tried to fix a hole in the wall what a mess - it looked like someone had spat on the wall and it had been there for some time - the light above the bed had dirty string hanging down for the light switches - very dirty as per the photos ...

Room tip: dont stay there
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank colinhoareart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews