We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
_sonamgermi
Christchurch, New Zealand

Worse place to stay

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2017
I stayed in this place in July during my North Island trip. I paid $149 and the room was no were for the price I paid. It was very dirty, We could see the spider webs on ceiling corners. The room, kitchen & bathroom were so small and outdated and tiring. The funny thing was when we pulled the duvet cover, there was a sock belonged to previous guest still in the bed. I complained at the reception to a women who could be the Manager/owner and she had no idea how to handle complain and didn't help at all. We didn't feel comfortable staying at this place and asked for refund so that we can leave but she wouldn't give refund. After a long argument, I asked for compensation and she gave $20 off which was a joke and she didn't even bother to help to clean the and change the linen in room. In the morning when we wanted to have breakfast and there was no cereal bowls, plates. I couldn't believe this place charged me so much money for such a bad room. I didn;t want to see the reception women face again but I had to address that there were no plates and bowls in the kitchen. What can she do, who had no idea how to handle customer complains. This was the worse place I have ever stayed.
Date of stay: July 2017
Room Tip: Do not stay at this place.
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$272
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $320
0.4 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Algotels
    $145
  • Priceline
    $163
0.5 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$200
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $189
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $91
  • Hotels.com
    $95
1.2 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $140
0.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
IMG
$194
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Priceline
    $274
0.8 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $99
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • StayForLong
2.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $149
2.0 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$85
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $71
  • Expedia.com
    $85
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The hotel was in a good location on the main road downtown. At check in Meagan was very nice and helpful with the washer and dryer. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little outdated. Parking was free and we were able to park in front of our room. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarmst8544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

A very tidy and quiet motel. The staff were very friendly towards us! It was only a short walk from the city centre so when we went out at night it was safe to leave the car there and walk to town. It was cleaned when we went out for the day and everything was changed and replaced.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank shaniaisonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Very basic older motel which is well overdue for renovation and updating. Only had one window for air, as it was summer we used an inadequate fan provided but was still very hot and stuffy! Room reasonable size and bed comfortable enough, however could see dirty marks on bedspread and just didn't feel like unit was well cleaned. No Sky TV. Room was quiet enough and in a good location handy to downtown area. Staff member not particularly friendly or welcoming. We wouldn't return.

Room tip: Room only had one window and was very hot/stuffy in summer, fan provided inadequate.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2017

It is an older motel, but it is cheap and just a 10 minute walk to the bus station and the downtown area. My room was large and had a kitchen and free wifi (but it was slow). I had plenty of space and it wss fairly quiet.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platypus150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Stayed for one night in Jan 2017. Booked by mistake at the last minute and was very apprehensive about what kind of experience I was in for! Found the place easily, staff were friendly and helpful ( they moved us to the 2nd floor because it has a small view of the ocean and city, they let us check in half an hour early which was nice and even showed us to our room!).
Like other reviews state, the motel is a bit tired looking but for the price we (a couple) found it very adequate for one night.
Beds were comfy, clean and the room was tidy and neat despite being in need of a paint and update.
Our room had a small kitchenette and a small bathroom.
Over all we found the motel quite and had a great sleep.

Would recommend this place if you're after a clean room with a comfy bed for a short stay and if you are the kind of person who can over look small faults.

Room tip: -Ask for a room on the second floor. -If planning to walk in to town be prepared for a good 20min walk each way!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RebekahF147
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews