We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shania
Palmerston North, New Zealand

Good For The Price!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jun 2017via mobile
A very tidy and quiet motel. The staff were very friendly towards us! It was only a short walk from the city centre so when we went out at night it was safe to leave the car there and walk to town. It was cleaned when we went out for the day and everything was changed and replaced.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Algotels
    $145
  • Priceline
    $163
0.5 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Priceline
    $139
1.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
IMG
$194
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $209
0.8 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $149
2.0 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $272
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $320
0.4 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $200
  • Vio.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $189
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $60
  • Priceline
    $95
1.2 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $155
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $142
0.7 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • Vio.com
    $90
  • StayForLong
2.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $71
  • Priceline
    $85
1.1 km from Braemar Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
23
23
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Very basic older motel which is well overdue for renovation and updating. Only had one window for air, as it was summer we used an inadequate fan provided but was still very hot and stuffy! Room reasonable size and bed comfortable enough, however could see dirty marks on bedspread and just didn't feel like unit was well cleaned. No Sky TV. Room was quiet enough and in a good location handy to downtown area. Staff member not particularly friendly or welcoming. We wouldn't return.

Room tip: Room only had one window and was very hot/stuffy in summer, fan provided inadequate.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2017

It is an older motel, but it is cheap and just a 10 minute walk to the bus station and the downtown area. My room was large and had a kitchen and free wifi (but it was slow). I had plenty of space and it wss fairly quiet.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platypus150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Stayed for one night in Jan 2017. Booked by mistake at the last minute and was very apprehensive about what kind of experience I was in for! Found the place easily, staff were friendly and helpful ( they moved us to the 2nd floor because it has a small view of the ocean and city, they let us check in half an hour early which was nice and even showed us to our room!).
Like other reviews state, the motel is a bit tired looking but for the price we (a couple) found it very adequate for one night.
Beds were comfy, clean and the room was tidy and neat despite being in need of a paint and update.
Our room had a small kitchenette and a small bathroom.
Over all we found the motel quite and had a great sleep.

Would recommend this place if you're after a clean room with a comfy bed for a short stay and if you are the kind of person who can over look small faults.

Room tip: -Ask for a room on the second floor. -If planning to walk in to town be prepared for a good 20min walk each way!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RebekahF147
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Reasonable hotel. Tied and in need of a good paint and update, very dirty in places. Comfortable sleep for 2 nights, good beds and pillows.Close to town and coastal pathway. Friendly staff. Price was ok.

Room tip: Upstairs you might get a small view of ocean. No lift.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikj0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed ar Braemer for 3 nights. On first looking from the road it looked a little tired but we found the room to be to be neat and tidy with a full kitchen and queen bed and a single. The staff in the office were always pleasant and helpful. It is just a short walk to the main shopping area and we were given 5GB of Internet to use.
Yes we would stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews