We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
160
113
53
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
113
53
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet restaurant nice pool swimming pool free bikes room service great facilities air conditioning little extras great place to stay friendly helpful staff easy walk stayed here for two nights good size double bed comfortable beds would stay again festival of lights
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Friendly helpful staff, good location, handy to the Coastal Walkway and the best part was the complimentary use of the mountain bikes. The room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the spa broke down which was a real shame.Other than that, we enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyJ956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for joining us Tracey.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

An excellent stay. Lovely room... well presented. Very friendly staff and great value for money. This hotel is in a great central location.... cafes and restaurants very close. It was great to have a swimming pool to cool off after such a long drive.
Upmost cleanliness.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GozKapiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for joining us, and for your kind review. We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Hotel staff were really helpful including reception staff, bar and restaurant staff. The room included a double bed, TV, free wifi. The room also included fridge and coffee and tea making facilities. Rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless when we returned in the evening. The hotel is located about 3 blocks away from the CBD with a relatively easy walk to town. Breakfast options were continental to full cooked breakfast, standard fare. There was a outdoor pool for use by guests as well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for joining us over Easter, Henare. We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights before doing the Pouakai Circuit and loved it so much chose to stay here the night we got back from our hike.

The room was very clean. Had two queen or king sized beds, I’m not sure what size they were but they were very comfortable. There is an opening window for fresh air and an air cond unit, a heater, a fan, extra towels and little extras like free newspaper and toiletries.

The staff were friendly and we could not fault their service.

We ate in the buffet at the hotel one of the nights and found the selection of the food very good. Once again the service from every staff member was exceptional.

The room we had faced a fairly busy road and we kept the window open at night but did not find the traffic noise to be too intrusive. We paid $150 for the room which was a special deal. I highly recommend a night or two here.

Room Tip: We had room 773 both times we visited. We could just see a peep of the sea.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MtMum24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thanks for joining us MtMum24, and for your kind comments.
Well done on conquering the crossing too.
We'd love to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Absolutely loved my stay here with my partner. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the city. Close to gas stations, supermarkets, food outlets however you may not need any of that because the restaurant there is AMAZING! Had dinner there and it blew my expectations. Again went for breakfast which was even better!
Customer service was absolutely wonderful from anyone I encountered there. Bartender was super friendly and happy to help with whatever random request I had such as just wanting ice lol.
Only let down would be maybe the walls as we received a noise complaint from just the tv - watching an action movie at 10pm. Would have preferred to not be put put next to an elderly couple.

Room Tip: Try book when there isnt an event on
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MercedesF472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Mercedes F,
Thanks for joining us.
I'm so pleased you loved your stay and meals.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews