We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
Fitzroy Beach Motel(New Plymouth)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Northgate Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nice Hotel & Table(New Plymouth)
US$165
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auto Lodge Motor Inn(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
138
112
52
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
112
52
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet restaurantmain restaurantnice poolhotel is modernswimming poolfree bikesroom servicegreat facilitiesair conditioninglittle extrassmall roomfriendly helpful staffgreat place to stayeasy walkstayed here for two nightsgood sizedouble bed
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Friendly helpful staff, good location, handy to the Coastal Walkway and the best part was the complimentary use of the mountain bikes. The room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the spa broke down which was a real shame.Other than that, we enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for joining us Tracey.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

An excellent stay. Lovely room... well presented. Very friendly staff and great value for money. This hotel is in a great central location.... cafes and restaurants very close. It was great to have a swimming pool to cool off after such a long drive.
Upmost cleanliness.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GozKapiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for joining us, and for your kind review. We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Hotel staff were really helpful including reception staff, bar and restaurant staff. The room included a double bed, TV, free wifi. The room also included fridge and coffee and tea making facilities. Rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless when we returned in the evening. The hotel is located about 3 blocks away from the CBD with a relatively easy walk to town. Breakfast options were continental to full cooked breakfast, standard fare. There was a outdoor pool for use by guests as well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for joining us over Easter, Henare. We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights before doing the Pouakai Circuit and loved it so much chose to stay here the night we got back from our hike.

The room was very clean. Had two queen or king sized beds, I’m not sure what size they were but they were very comfortable. There is an opening window for fresh air and an air cond unit, a heater, a fan, extra towels and little extras like free newspaper and toiletries.

The staff were friendly and we could not fault their service.

We ate in the buffet at the hotel one of the nights and found the selection of the food very good. Once again the service from every staff member was exceptional.

The room we had faced a fairly busy road and we kept the window open at night but did not find the traffic noise to be too intrusive. We paid $150 for the room which was a special deal. I highly recommend a night or two here.

Room Tip: We had room 773 both times we visited. We could just see a peep of the sea.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MtMum24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thanks for joining us MtMum24, and for your kind comments.
Well done on conquering the crossing too.
We'd love to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Absolutely loved my stay here with my partner. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the city. Close to gas stations, supermarkets, food outlets however you may not need any of that because the restaurant there is AMAZING! Had dinner there and it blew my expectations. Again went for breakfast which was even better!
Customer service was absolutely wonderful from anyone I encountered there. Bartender was super friendly and happy to help with whatever random request I had such as just wanting ice lol.
Only let down would be maybe the walls as we received a noise complaint from just the tv - watching an action movie at 10pm. Would have preferred to not be put put next to an elderly couple.

Room Tip: Try book when there isnt an event on
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mercedes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Mercedes F,
Thanks for joining us.
I'm so pleased you loved your stay and meals.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews