We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Hotels.com
$197
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$167
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Simon D
Auckland, New Zealand

Long weekend stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Mar 2024via mobile
Stayed in room 7 which was a king studio. Comfortable bed, good shower, basic kitchen with microwave, kettle, fridge and basic condiments provided. Everything was clean and tidy, Sky TV provided, staff and housekeeping friendly and helpful.
Handy location to the coastal walkway and main highway, city centre etc.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Easy parking on the premises, handy location to highway (some road noise, but not invasive),...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$231
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $220
  • Vio.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $289
0.3 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
Booking.com
$190
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Algotels
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $190
0.3 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $125
1.7 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Priceline
    $149
1.9 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Booking.com
$255
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $255
0.6 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hotels.com
$102
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $97
  • Agoda.com
    $83
  • Trip.com
    $104
2.0 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $140
  • eDreams
    $140
1.0 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfy King
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $176
5.5 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
Booking.com
$75
  • Priceline
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.4 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from The Dawson Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
247
49
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
247
49
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal walkway sweet and sour pork great location close to town comfortable bed great place to stay easy walk stayed here for nights we've stayed bedroom apartment welcoming hosts road noise warren motel bikes plymouth waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024

We had another one night stay here recently, to break the journey on a trip up north for a family get-together. We’ve stayed here quite a few times before. We’ve always stayed in unit 6, but this time were in unit 9. They are both identical units, a king sized bed in a roomy studio layout.

As always, the room was scrupulously clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great wifi and nicely appointed bathroom.

We will definitely stay here again each time we travel north.

An added bonus this time was to see some beautiful American cars parked in the carpark, ready for the Americana event in New Plymouth a day or so after we were there. I wish I could have left in the beautiful bright red 1965 Mustang…

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

What a great place to stay with friends it’s close to the centre of all amenities museums gallery etc. booking in was very easy. The studio rooms are very well laid out and very bright. It’s very easy to park as well. The room was were very clean and the bed was very comfortable

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Davesspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

We loved staying here. It was our first time staying, and we'll definitely be back. I requested a wheelchair accessible room (Room 1), which was really good. The hosts were a lovely young couple that were very welcoming and knowledgeable. The motel is lovely and modern and clean. Free parking on site was perfect.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discover26014976217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Climo, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

An outstanding place to stay in New Plymouth!
Modern decor and facilities.
Very high standard of cleanliness.
Reasoanble cost.
Very good to have access to EV charger.
Hosts very accommodating.
Will definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Handy to Coastal Walkway and Festival of Lights.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roam56552594038
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Climo, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2023

We live in Lower Hutt and often travel north to the Waikato to visit family. Now we are retired we generally make it a two day trip just because we can, and it's more leisurely to break up the journey.

We normally stay here on our way north, and this recent trip was no exception.

We normally have unit 6, it's a studio unit but it has a king sized bed (might even be a superking actually, it's really big) and it's very roomy. There's a good wifi connection and the hosts are very friendly. The room is always immaculately clean and sparkling.

Would highly recommend this motel, and we will definitely be staying here again on our next trip north.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Climo, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews