We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“2 Night stay with our family of four - excellent modern accommodation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2 Night stay with our family of four - excellent modern accommodation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom corner unit. 1 room with a king bed and 1 with 2 singles. Perfect for our family of four. The suite was spacious, immaculately clean and very modern. No pull out couch FYI. The kitchenette had everything you could need including a small oven which is unusual for most motels. The bathroom was great with a large jacuzzi tub and excellent walk-in shower. The complimentary shampoo, etc were very high quality as well. About a 5 min walk into the main town centre and 2 mins from the waterfront. Very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Our 2 bedroom units are perfect for families so that you can really spread out! We like our units to be convenient for our guests so we are glad you appreciate the extra amenities such as an oven.
We are very lucky to be so close to town and some of the other fantastic destinations New Plymouth has to offer.

We hope to have you and your family back again

Regards,

Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    35
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
72
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff a cooked breakfast right to your door, awesome rooms just a great stay, highly recommended for anyone who wants some quality service, nothing was to much for them, one of the best motels I have stayed at.

Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eatingwithmypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay- and the breakfasts! Here at The Dawson Motel we will do our best to ensure a great stay. We love to hear we are one of the bests for you. We hope to have you again.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

I had friends from overseas visit New Zealand from The United Kingdom and we booked them into The Dawson Motel, they absolutely loved it, beautiful rooms, friendly staff and an overall good experience.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation to your friends! We are very glad they enjoyed their stay and hope they had a wonderful trip to New Zealand

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed here one night.The staff were very friendly & helpful. Our studio unit was modern, spacious, comfortable, clean & quiet.The disabled unit was excellent for my elderly Mother. Would definitely stay again

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Macmar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Thank you for your review on The Dawson Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make our rooms comfortable for all our guests and appreciate the feedback on your stay.

We hope to have you all back again.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed in The Dawson 2-3 nights a week over 3 months for work.
Very clean rooms, lovely staff and very accommodating. I don't look for any other motels when I visit New Plymouth anymore.
After a day out in the rain it was wonderful to come back to a nice clean and comfortable room. The staff were nice enough to dry my work clothes as well.

Fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception get better wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schaafgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Hi Greg
Thanks for taking the time to review your time with with us at The Dawson Motel. We really appreciated the positive feedback and the continued support.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.7 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.0 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.0 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price range (per night): $155 - $180
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing