We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dawson Motel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Northgate Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The State Hotel(New Plymouth)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auto Lodge Motor Inn(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
167
42
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
42
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoastal walkwaybeach walkwalking distance to townunlimited wifishort strollbeds were very comfortablesea viewmodern bathroomcleaning staffheat pumpan easy walklaundry facilitiesbedroom unitgreat central locationwell equipped kitchenroad noiselen lye centre
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff a cooked breakfast right to your door, awesome rooms just a great stay, highly recommended for anyone who wants some quality service, nothing was to much for them, one of the best motels I have stayed at.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Eatingwithmypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay- and the breakfasts! Here at The Dawson Motel we will do our best to ensure a great stay. We love to hear we are one of the bests for you. We hope to have you again.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I had friends from overseas visit New Zealand from The United Kingdom and we booked them into The Dawson Motel, they absolutely loved it, beautiful rooms, friendly staff and an overall good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation to your friends! We are very glad they enjoyed their stay and hope they had a wonderful trip to New Zealand

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed here one night.The staff were very friendly & helpful. Our studio unit was modern, spacious, comfortable, clean & quiet.The disabled unit was excellent for my elderly Mother. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Macmar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you for your review on The Dawson Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make our rooms comfortable for all our guests and appreciate the feedback on your stay.

We hope to have you all back again.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed in The Dawson 2-3 nights a week over 3 months for work.
Very clean rooms, lovely staff and very accommodating. I don't look for any other motels when I visit New Plymouth anymore.
After a day out in the rain it was wonderful to come back to a nice clean and comfortable room. The staff were nice enough to dry my work clothes as well.

Fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception get better wifi connection
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaafgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Hi Greg
Thanks for taking the time to review your time with with us at The Dawson Motel. We really appreciated the positive feedback and the continued support.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Great staff, spotlessly clean and so comfortable, quiet and warm. Real comfy bed! Central to everything, coastal walkway, shops and restaurants. This was an excellent choice. It was a shame about the weather but the lovely accommodation made up for it.

Room Tip: Best views upstairs, convenient downstairs both with sea views
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Hi Robin
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We really appreciate the positive feedback and hopefully you have the chance to visit New Plymouth again ( when the sun is out) and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews