We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$160
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
380Kat
New Zealand

Great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jun 2022via mobile
Great location. Clean, modern units. Hosts were very friendly and easy to deal with when we booked. It’s an easy walk into town from the motel - we were there for the Matariki light festival and it was easier to walk than find parking in town.
We were warm and cosy in our unit. Highly recommend for a budget conscious option.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior Dusk
Tripadvisor
$173
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Tripadvisor
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$182
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$213
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Tripadvisor
$217
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfy King
Tripadvisor
$264
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
Tripadvisor
$95
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Priceline
0.8 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Priceline
1.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

Spotless and welcoming, the beds are comfortable and good quality mattresses. After travelling around for a week in different motels it was lovely to find yet another quality place to stay. We had booked another motel and arrived to find it wasn’t quite like the photos and decided to find another place to stay. We were lucky enough o get a booking at the Devon and very pleased we did. We have now booked for a weeks stay there early next year.
There were four of us in the group and everyone was happy, we had dinner in the Marbles restaurant which will never disappoint. Such a wonderful choice of delicious food, European, Asian, Indian, and the best range of seafood.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2020 via mobile

Being away and for so long can be a drag, but the owners/family are fantastic and the rooms are super clean. Good size rooms with the little things you need to make time away more comfortable. Also a short walk to the city centre with shopping and restaurants just there.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Codey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

One night stay before we spent the day working in Waitara
First time to New Plymouth in almost 35 years and I loved it. This city is very pretty. Didn’t get to do the Coastal Walkway as it rained in the morning, but I hope to go back one day
The motel is on the outskirts of the city centre, a little too far for us to walk to dinner but only a 5 minute drive into the city centre.
We had a nice room. Decent size. There were only 2 of us but the room could accommodate 3-5 people. We had two queen beds and one single bed and I think the sofa in the lounge was a sofa bed
The road outside was quite busy but we had an amazing sleep. So quiet. Good blockout blinds to keep the daylight out :)
Room was nice and clean
Pool outside our room. Wasn’t warm enough when we arrived later in the evening so we didn’t get to test it out
Nice friendly staff on reception
The motel was fully booked so parking was tight
Would recommend

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019 via mobile

We really liked this motel. It had a very homely feeling, the room was large, comfortable bed and seating arrangements and a small kitchenette. The lady at reception was very helpful and friendly. It’s about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. It is very good value for money. Would recommend if you’re in town for work or as a tourist.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 354LindaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2019

Very pleasant stay, warm, quiet, and spacious units with everything provided. Good shower and spa bath, full kitchen facilities. Good mattress with electric blankets. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very happy to stay there again!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AniraSimoneP1, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Thanks for the nice review Paul we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews