We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$159
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Marie B
Auckland, New Zealand

Spotlessly Clean

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Aug 2020via mobile
Spotless and welcoming, the beds are comfortable and good quality mattresses. After travelling around for a week in different motels it was lovely to find yet another quality place to stay. We had booked another motel and arrived to find it wasn’t quite like the photos and decided to find another place to stay. We were lucky enough o get a booking at the Devon and very pleased we did. We have now booked for a weeks stay there early next year.
There were four of us in the group and everyone was happy, we had dinner in the Marbles restaurant which will never disappoint. Such a wonderful choice of delicious food, European, Asian, Indian, and the best range of seafood.
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $247
  • Expedia.com
    $263
0.8 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Algotels
1.0 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Expedia.com
2.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
2.5 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Algotels
1.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $98
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
2.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $213
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfy King
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $261
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2020 via mobile

Being away and for so long can be a drag, but the owners/family are fantastic and the rooms are super clean. Good size rooms with the little things you need to make time away more comfortable. Also a short walk to the city centre with shopping and restaurants just there.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Codey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

One night stay before we spent the day working in Waitara
First time to New Plymouth in almost 35 years and I loved it. This city is very pretty. Didn’t get to do the Coastal Walkway as it rained in the morning, but I hope to go back one day
The motel is on the outskirts of the city centre, a little too far for us to walk to dinner but only a 5 minute drive into the city centre.
We had a nice room. Decent size. There were only 2 of us but the room could accommodate 3-5 people. We had two queen beds and one single bed and I think the sofa in the lounge was a sofa bed
The road outside was quite busy but we had an amazing sleep. So quiet. Good blockout blinds to keep the daylight out :)
Room was nice and clean
Pool outside our room. Wasn’t warm enough when we arrived later in the evening so we didn’t get to test it out
Nice friendly staff on reception
The motel was fully booked so parking was tight
Would recommend

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019 via mobile

We really liked this motel. It had a very homely feeling, the room was large, comfortable bed and seating arrangements and a small kitchenette. The lady at reception was very helpful and friendly. It’s about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. It is very good value for money. Would recommend if you’re in town for work or as a tourist.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 354LindaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2019

Very pleasant stay, warm, quiet, and spacious units with everything provided. Good shower and spa bath, full kitchen facilities. Good mattress with electric blankets. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very happy to stay there again!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AniraSimoneP1, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Thanks for the nice review Paul we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

My wife and I spent a wonderful 3 days in New Plymouth at 299 on Devon West Motel. The great service we received from the motel started when we first contacted Simone to book our stay. She was delightful on the phone and we looked forward to meeting her. On arrival we met the lovely Simone and immediately felt at home. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and well resourced and our bed was very comfortable. Next morning we met the lovely Dean who went out of his way to help us plan our day. The motel is close enough to the centre of town to walk to some lovely restaurants-we were indeed spoiled for choice. Our final day could have ended in disaster as I left the car lights on and we returned to a dead battery. Luckily a call to Simone saw Dean come to the rescue and we managed to start the car but another example of their excellent service. Overall, there are some people who are a real asset to the travel industry and Simone and Dean are wonderful examples of this. They genuinely enjoy people and making sure that visitors have a wonderful time while staying in their lovely motel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MikeW5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AniraSimoneP1, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

Thanks for your lovely review! Look we just loved hosting you guys - so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Happy travels x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews