We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paul B
Christchurch, New Zealand

Motel stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jun 2019
Very pleasant stay, warm, quiet, and spacious units with everything provided. Good shower and spa bath, full kitchen facilities. Good mattress with electric blankets. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very happy to stay there again!
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AniraSimoneP1, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Jun 2019
Thanks for the nice review Paul we appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior Dusk
$316
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$153
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$228
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$75
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $260
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $269
  • Priceline
1.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Algotels
2.2 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin with 1 single 1 queen
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $164
  • Algotels
1.0 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    $143
  • StayForLong
2.6 km from 299 on Devon West Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

My wife and I spent a wonderful 3 days in New Plymouth at 299 on Devon West Motel. The great service we received from the motel started when we first contacted Simone to book our stay. She was delightful on the phone and we looked forward to meeting her. On arrival we met the lovely Simone and immediately felt at home. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and well resourced and our bed was very comfortable. Next morning we met the lovely Dean who went out of his way to help us plan our day. The motel is close enough to the centre of town to walk to some lovely restaurants-we were indeed spoiled for choice. Our final day could have ended in disaster as I left the car lights on and we returned to a dead battery. Luckily a call to Simone saw Dean come to the rescue and we managed to start the car but another example of their excellent service. Overall, there are some people who are a real asset to the travel industry and Simone and Dean are wonderful examples of this. They genuinely enjoy people and making sure that visitors have a wonderful time while staying in their lovely motel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MikeW5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AniraSimoneP1, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

Thanks for your lovely review! Look we just loved hosting you guys - so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Happy travels x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed two nights then away one night, back extra two. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our ground floor unit had seperate bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable.
Good road links into CBD. but probably to far out to walk. Restaurants nearby though.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TrailBlazer694144
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AniraSimoneP1, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

Thanks for your lovely review - happy travels x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Stayed @ 299 for 8 nights in December 2018. The rooms were immaculate, comfy bed, great wifi & Sky Channels. We found the rooms to be extremely quiet & conveniently located to town & everything we needed.
Dean ^ Simone are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble.
Highly recommend 299 0n Devon for a great holiday - we'll be back

Room tip: Recommend Room 11 where we were - looks out over the garden & pool
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - you were lovely guests and we enjoyed hosting you!

We're so looking forward to your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018

Stayed here to watch the festival of lights. You will not be disappointed by the well kept rooms they have on offer. We had a room that consists of a queen with a king single so perfect for the older child with her parents. The pool was refreshing after a hot summer day. The road outside is quite busy, however when you close your door, you do not hear it at all. Amenities fantastic. Thoroughly recommend from the friendly service to the beds.

Room tip: If you have issues with stairs, ask for the bottom floor.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pip_dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Nice and clean room, the staff were very friendly and helpful! Good sky services and it was a comfortable bed to sleep in. Only thing is that the noise buffering isnt the best - so dont forget to bring earplugs!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank rosiereidnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2019

Thanks for your review - no earplugs needed here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews