We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
24
15
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
15
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating in easy walking distance friendly hosts stayed here sky channels comfortable bed dean devon motel shower museum
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Thank you for a very pleasant stay. The welcome was nice and friendly, everything was ready and available for us upon arrival ...just what one expects after a long day of driving. This will be our choice whenever we'll visit New Plymouth again...well done !! Thank you !

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is a fairly decent motel in New Plymouth, like most accommodationhere, prices are a bit on the high side, however the room is comfortable and quite scenic, you are protected from Devon street by a wall and soundproofing. Parking is a bit erratic and other guests can be very noisy.
The pool is okay but has very high sides and seems to slope down in the middle, it is not the safest. I could probably rate it 3½ stars, but I did have to deal with a screechy family of teenage and child girls squealing and some slatternly looking people who lived there I think. Also a big minus for no cooking facilities beyond a microwave. Big pluses for the complete sky package of 50+ channels and the Internet being easily available.
Style is generally modern, although a bit 80s looking in places, front staff were pleasant and the standard of cleanliness was excellent.

Room tip: Ground floor is best for obese and mobility limited people, along with those with plenty of baggage as stairs narrow
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveltane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Arrived to extra special touches of complimentary juice and chocolate. Rooms spacious and comfortable and relaxing spa in bathroom. Host was friendly and accommodated all our requests. Went out of her way to ensure our stay was positive and enjoyable. Well priced, would recommend.

Room tip: a number of us stayed and all were happy with their rooms.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bern476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your review, it always makes a smile to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

299 Devon was just lovely. We checked in with a very warm greeting and helpful service. The upstairs unit that we stayed in was lovely warm and clean, which is a must. It even had underfloor heating in the bathroom which was great. The shower was excellent. Good quality tea and coffee. Definitely will be going back there.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JackieS3135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

299 offers extremely tidy accommodation just a 12 minute walk from the Len Lye centre and shopping district. Free bike hire - not the latest of bikes but hey save yourself the hire fee - are available free of charge to cycle the New Plymouth Walkway. Rooms are well appointed with kitchens set up for cooking if need be.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dhabi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Great to hear you were able to walk into the City Centre/Len Lye and had time to enjoy the use of our bikes along the Coastal Walkway. Thank you for staying with us :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews